Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Campaigns and Elections

Assembly Bill 173

Relating to: private resources used for election administration, appointment of election officials, and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Neylon, Duchow, Magnafici, Edming, Steffen, Spiros, Krug, Knodl, Brooks, Sortwell, Gundrum, Murphy, Jagler, Wichgers and VanderMeer; cosponsored by Senators Stroebel, Roth, Darling, Marklein, Jacque, Wanggaard, Bradley, Nass, Ballweg and Felzkowski.

March 16, 2021 Referred to Committee on Campaigns and Elections

April 14, 2021 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (7) Representative Brandtjen; Representatives
Thiesfeldt, Murphy, Rozar, Spreitzer, Subeck and Emerson.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Sanfelippo and Tusler.

Appearances For

- Sen. duey Stroebel 20th Senate Disrict
- Rep. Adam Neylon 98th Assembly District
- Adam Jordahl OSP/Madison Melissa

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

• Kyle Koenen - Wiscosnin institute For Law & Liberty

Registrations Against

- Andrea Kaminski League of Women's Voters
- Mary Bottari City of Madison
- Tami Jackson WI Board for People w/Developmental Disabilities

Registrations for Information Only

None.

April 27, 2021 Executive Session Held

Present: (8) Representative Brandtjen; Representatives
Tusler, Thiesfeldt, Murphy, Rozar, Spreitzer,
Subeck and Emerson.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Sanfelippo.

Moved by Representative Murphy, seconded by Representative Rozar that **Assembly Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (5) Representative Brandtjen; Representatives Tusler, Thiesfeldt, Murphy and Rozar.

Noes: (3) Representatives Spreitzer, Subeck and Emerson.

Recused: (1) Representative Sanfelippo.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 3

Moved by Representative Rozar, seconded by Representative Thiesfeldt that **Assembly Bill 173** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (5) Representative Brandtjen; Representatives Tusler, Thiesfeldt, Murphy and Rozar.

Noes: (3) Representatives Spreitzer, Subeck and Emerson.

Recused: (1) Representative Sanfelippo.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 3

Bill Savage
Committee Clerk