## **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Colleges and Universities**

#### **Assembly Bill 38**

Relating to: exempting veterans and members of the armed forces from admissions application fees at University of Wisconsin System schools and technical colleges.

By Representatives Edming, Callahan, Anderson, Bowen, Brandtjen, Brooks, Milroy, Moses, Rozar, Sinicki, Tauchen, Thiesfeldt and Wichgers; cosponsored by Senators Jacque, Darling and Wimberger.

February 10, 2021 Referred to Committee on Colleges and Universities

### March 04, 2021 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (13) Representative Murphy; Representatives
Tranel, Duchow, Wittke, Summerfield, Krug,
Petryk, Cabral-Guevara, Moses, Hesselbein,
Anderson, Emerson and Stubbs.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Dallman and Shankland.

#### Appearances For

- Rep. James Edming author
- Sen. Andre Jacque author
- Nick Krey
- Timothy LaSage WPS Health Solutions
- Devan Wrege

#### Appearances Against

• None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

#### Registrations For

- Paul Fisk American Legion
- Layla Merrifield WI Technical College District Boards Association
- President Morna Foy Wisconsin Technical College System

#### Registrations Against

• None.

### Registrations for Information Only

None.

#### March 11, 2021 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (14) Representative Murphy; Representatives

Dallman, Tranel, Duchow, Wittke,

Summerfield, Krug, Petryk, Cabral-Guevara, Moses, Hesselbein, Anderson, Emerson and

Stubbs.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Shankland.

Moved by Representative Tranel, seconded by Representative Cabral-Guevara that **Assembly Bill 38** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (14) Representative Murphy; Representatives

Dallman, Tranel, Duchow, Wittke, Summerfield, Krug, Petryk, Cabral-Guevara, Moses, Hesselbein, Anderson,

Emerson and Stubbs.

Noes: (0) None.

Representative Shankland indicated that she would have voted Aye if present.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Diane Handrick Committee Clerk