## Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Colleges and Universities**

### Assembly Bill 195

Relating to: designating University of Wisconsin and technical college sports and athletic teams based on the sex of the participants.

By Representatives Dittrich, Brandtjen, Cabral-Guevara, Rozar, Tittl, Gundrum, Sortwell, Tusler, Plumer, Skowronski, James, Allen, Kuglitsch, Moses, Ramthun and Sanfelippo; cosponsored by Senators Bernier, Jacque and Nass.

March 25, 2021	Referred to Committee on Colleges and Universities			
May 26, 2021	Public Hearing Held			
	Present:	(12)	Representative Murphy; Representatives Dallman, Tranel, Duchow, Wittke, Summerfield, Petryk, Cabral-Guevara, Moses, Anderson, Emerson and Stubbs.	
	Absent:	(0)	None.	
	Excused:	(3)	Representatives Krug, Hesselbein and Shankland.	
		-		

#### Appearances For

- Rep. Barb Dittrich author
- Rep. Janel Brandtjen
- Ray Hacke Pacific Justice Institute
- Beth Stelzer Save Women's Sports
- Sherry Mix
- Leia Pickett
- Julaine Applling Wisconsin Family Action
- Leah Schneeberger
- Sarah Parshall Perry The Heritage Foundation
- Kari ?

Appearances Against

- Dr. Brittany Allen WI Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics
- Elizabeth Fernandez Civil Rights and Liberties Section of the State Bar of WI
- Dr. Sheri Swokowski ACLU-WI
- Sidney Litke
- Tre Temperilli
- Rep. Greta Neubauer

- Rep. Lee Snodgrass
- Wendy Strout Human Rights Campaign
- Amber Lefers
- Rep. Francesca Hong
- Osha Towers

### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

## Registrations For

- Sen. Kathy Bernier
- Micah Pearce WI Family Action
- Larry Haas WI Catholic Conference
- Thistle Peterson
- Miriam Ben-Shalom Hands Across the Aisle Compassion Coalition
- Shelly Kalbas
- MJ Walters

### Registrations Against

- Elly McGraw Chyparith
- AMy Lyle
- Oliver Gibbs
- Crystal Potts UW Madison
- Connie Schulze UW Health
- Ellen Sweeney
- Danielle Harris WIAC
- Sara Duesterhoeft
- Amber Soward
- Ashley Green
- Kelly Moe Litke
- Lynne Davis CIvil Rights and Liberties Section of the State Bar of WI
- Nate Wolff
- Andy Engel WIAA
- Marc Herstand National Association of Social Workers
- President Morna Foy Wisconsin Technical College System
- Layla Merrifield WI Techinical College District Boads Association
- Bob Baxter WEAC
- Sen. Tim Carpenter
- Jack O'Meara PROFS UW Madison Faculty
- Ian Henderson WI Coalition Against Sexual Assault
- Helen Boyd

• Ollie Heide

•

- David Heide
- Rachel Crowl
- Mary Van De Loo
- James McKenzie
- Lydia Rhoads
- Cody Crentz
- Chris Johnson
- Rachel Chisman
- Megin McDonell
- Brian Juchems
- Sarah Yonen O Meara LLC
- Peter Beeson
- Franny Donovan
- Quince Mountain
- Michael Mirer
- Sarah Bartash
- Ginber Baier
- Arvina Martin
- Courtney Reed Jenkins
- Jenna Gormal End Abuse WI
- Mark Nessel
- Amira Pierotti
- Ash Lyre
- Nikolaus Spittlemeister
- Vica Steel
- Jason Soules
- Stephanie Parmentier
- Susan Fox Monona Grove School Board
- Andi Janeway
- Cory Neeley
- Kathy Flores
- Katherine Walton
- Emily Mills
- Katie Hayden

## Registrations for Information Only

• None.

June 02, 2021 Executive Session Held

Present: (15) Representative Murphy; Representatives Dallman, Tranel, Duchow, Wittke, Summerfield, Krug, Petryk, Cabral-Guevara,

		Moses, Hesselbein, Shankland, Anderson,
		Emerson and Stubbs.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.
Excused.	(0)	INOIR.

Moved by Representative Wittke, seconded by Representative Cabral-Guevara that Assembly Amendment 1 be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes: (10) Representative Murphy; Representatives Dallman, Tranel, Duchow, Wittke, Summerfield, Krug, Petryk, Cabral-Guevara and Moses.
- Noes: (5) Representatives Hesselbein, Shankland, Anderson, Emerson and Stubbs.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 5

Moved by Representative Moses, seconded by Representative Wittke that **Assembly Bill 195** be recommended for passage as amended.

- Ayes: (10) Representative Murphy; Representatives Dallman, Tranel, Duchow, Wittke, Summerfield, Krug, Petryk, Cabral-Guevara and Moses.
- Noes: (5) Representatives Hesselbein, Shankland, Anderson, Emerson and Stubbs.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 5

Diane Handrick Committee Clerk