Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Colleges and Universities

Assembly Bill 266

Relating to: eliminating certain restrictions on the respective educational roles of the University of Wisconsin System and the Technical College System.

By Representatives Snyder, Murphy, Armstrong, Brooks, Cabral-Guevara, Dallman, Gundrum, Krug, Kuglitsch, Loudenbeck, Moses, Mursau, Novak, Ramthun, J. Rodriguez, Schraa, Spiros, Steffen, Tauchen, Tittl, Tranel, VanderMeer, Vorpagel, Wichgers and Wittke; cosponsored by Senators Felzkowski, Jacque, Bernier, Feyen, Marklein, Stroebel, Wanggaard and Wimberger.

April 16, 2021 Referred to Committee on Colleges and Universities

May 20, 2021 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(15)	Representative Murphy; Representatives
		Dallman, Tranel, Duchow, Wittke,
		Summerfield, Krug, Petryk, Cabral-Guevara,
		Moses, Hesselbein, Shankland, Anderson,
		Emerson and Stubbs.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Appearances For

- Rep. Pat Snyder Author
- Sen. Mary Felzkowski Senate author
- President Morna Foy Wisconsin Technical College System
- Becky Levzow WTCS Board
- Zaida Hernandez Gateway Technical College
- Jason Tadlock Elkhorn Area School District
- President Bryan Albrecht Gateway Technical College
- President Jason Wood Southwest Technical College
- President Lori Weyers Northcentral Technical College
- President Tom Felch J & D Tube Benders, Inc
- President Jack Daniels Madison Area Technical College
- President Richard Barnhouse Waukesha County Technical College
- Ann Ilagan Waukesha County Technical College
- Executive Director Layla Merrifield WTCS District Boards Association

Appearances Against

- Dr. Rob Ducoffe UW Parkside
- Interim Vice President for University Relations Scott Neitzel UW System
- Jon Shelton AFT-Wisconsin

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

• Sen. Andre Jacque

Registrations Against

• Chad Alan Goldberg - United Faculty and Academic Staff, American Federation of Teachers Local 223

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

June 02, 2021 Executive Session Held

- Present:(15)Representative Murphy; Representatives
Dallman, Tranel, Duchow, Wittke,
Summerfield, Krug, Petryk, Cabral-Guevara,
Moses, Hesselbein, Shankland, Anderson,
Emerson and Stubbs.Absent:(0)None.
- Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Dallman, seconded by Representative Wittke that **Assembly Bill 266** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (10) Representative Murphy; Representatives Dallman, Tranel, Duchow, Wittke, Summerfield, Krug, Petryk, Cabral-Guevara and Moses.
- Noes: (5) Representatives Hesselbein, Shankland, Anderson, Emerson and Stubbs.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 5

Diane Handrick Committee Clerk