### Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Colleges and Universities**

### Assembly Bill 735

Relating to: free speech and academic freedom at University of Wisconsin System institutions and technical colleges, causes of action against the Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System and technical college district boards, and Wisconsin grant funding allocation.

By Representatives Cabral-Guevara, Murphy, Allen, Armstrong, Brandtjen, Horlacher, James, Kuglitsch, Moses, Penterman, Schraa, Tittl, Tusler and Wichgers; cosponsored by Senators Testin and Stroebel.

December 02, 2021 Referred to Committee on Colleges and Universities

December 08, 2021 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(14)	Representative Murphy; Representatives
		Dallman, Tranel, Duchow, Wittke,
		Summerfield, Krug, Petryk, Cabral-Guevara,
		Moses, Shankland, Anderson, Emerson and
		Stubbs.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(1)	Representative Hesselbein.

#### Appearances For

- State Representative Rachel Cabra-Guevara 55th Assembly District
- State Senator Patrick Testin 24th Senate District
- State Representative Dave Murphy 56th Assembly District
- Joe Cohn FIRE

Appearances Against

- Layla Merrifield WI Technical College District Boards Association
- President Morna Foy Wisconsin Technical College System

Appearances for Information Only

Jeff Buhrandt - UW System

Registrations For

• None.

Registrations Against

- Kathi Kilgore ASPRO
- Professor Michael Bernard-Donals PROFS

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

#### January 13, 2022 Executive Session Held

Present:	(13)	Representative Murphy; Representatives
		Dallman, Tranel, Duchow, Wittke,
		Summerfield, Petryk, Cabral-Guevara, Moses,
		Hesselbein, Shankland, Anderson and Stubbs.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(2)	Representatives Krug and Emerson.

Moved by Representative Duchow, seconded by Representative Summerfield that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes: (9) Representative Murphy; Representatives Dallman, Tranel, Duchow, Wittke, Summerfield, Petryk, Cabral-Guevara and Moses.
- Noes: (4) Representatives Hesselbein, Shankland, Anderson and Stubbs.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 4

Moved by Representative Duchow, seconded by Representative Wittke that **Assembly Bill 735** be recommended for passage as amended.

- Ayes: (9) Representative Murphy; Representatives Dallman, Tranel, Duchow, Wittke, Summerfield, Petryk, Cabral-Guevara and Moses.
- Noes: (4) Representatives Hesselbein, Shankland, Anderson and Stubbs.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 4

Michael Moscicke Committee Clerk