## **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Colleges and Universities**

#### **Assembly Bill 836**

Relating to: technical college police academy programs.

By Representatives James, Dittrich, Callahan, Armstrong, Steffen, J. Rodriguez, Edming, Spiros, Petersen, Penterman, Brandtjen, Tittl, Gundrum, Novak, Magnafici, Kurtz, Snyder, Krug, Plumer, Oldenburg, Skowronski, Petryk, Sortwell, Behnke, Kuglitsch, Murphy, Kitchens, Mursau, Swearingen, Sanfelippo and Cabral-Guevara; cosponsored by Senators Jacque, Jagler and Nass.

January 07, 2022 Referred to Committee on Colleges and Universities

### January 13, 2022 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (13) Representative Murphy; Representatives
Dallman, Tranel, Duchow, Wittke,
Summerfield, Petryk, Cabral-Guevara, Moses,
Hesselbein, Shankland, Anderson and Stubbs.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Krug and Emerson.

#### Appearances For

- State Representative Jesse James 68th Assembly District
- State Senator Andre Jacque 1st Senate District
- Patrick Mitchell Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association
- Ken Pileggi Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association

### Appearances Against

None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

- President Morna Foy Wisconsin Technical College System
- Layla Merrifield WI Technical College District Boards Association

### Registrations For

Caty McDermott - Badger State Sheriffs' Association,
 Wisconsin Sheriffs and Deputy Sheriffs Association

#### Registrations Against

• None.

### Registrations for Information Only

None.

#### January 13, 2022 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (13) Representative Murphy; Representatives Dallman, Tranel, Duchow, Wittke,

Summerfield, Petryk, Cabral-Guevara, Moses, Hesselbein, Shankland, Anderson and Stubbs.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Krug and Emerson.

Moved by Representative Dallman, seconded by Representative Cabral-Guevara that **Assembly Bill 836** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (9) Representative Murphy; Representatives Dallman, Tranel, Duchow, Wittke, Summerfield, Petryk, Cabral-Guevara and Moses.

Noes: (4) Representatives Hesselbein, Shankland, Anderson and Stubbs.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 4

\_\_\_\_

Michael Moscicke Committee Clerk