## Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety**

#### Assembly Bill 329

Relating to: reporting the use of no-knock entry in the execution of a search warrant.

By Representatives Steineke, Stubbs, Armstrong, Baldeh, Cabral-Guevara, Cabrera, Duchow, Edming, Goyke, Gundrum, Kitchens, Krug, Kurtz, Loudenbeck, Macco, Milroy, Murphy, Mursau, Novak, Petryk, Schraa, Sortwell, Spiros, Steffen, Wittke and Zimmerman; cosponsored by Senators Wimberger, Wanggaard, L. Taylor and Ballweg.

| May 18, 2021 | Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety |
|--------------|---|
| May 27, 2021 | Public Hearing Held   |

| Present: | (14) | Representative Spiros; Representatives<br>Horlacher, Sortwell, Duchow, Novak, Schraa,<br>James, Steffen, Callahan, McGuire, Bowen, |
|----------|------|--|
|          |      | Emerson, Stubbs and Drake.   |
| Absent:  | (0)  | None.  |
| Excused: | (1)  | Representative Krug.   |

### Appearances For

- Rep. Jim Steineke 5th Assembly District
- Rep. Shelia Stubbs 77th Assembly District
- Andrew Wagner Milwaukee Police Association
- Orlando Owens
- Jim Palmer Wisconsin Professional Police Association
- Ken Pileggi Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association
- Aaron Chapin Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association
- Patrick Mitchell Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association
- Zachary Holschbach Wisconsin State Lodge Fraternal Order of Police
- Ryan Windorff Wisconsin State Lodge Fraternal Order of Police
- Jordan Primakow City of Milwaukee
- Pamela Holme
- Sheriff Nate Dreckman Badger State Sheriffs; WI Sheriffs and Deputy Sheriffs

### Appearances Against

- Rebecca Burrell
- Tiffany Henry
- Kamila Ahmed The People's Revolution

#### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

#### Registrations For

- Sen. Eric Wimberger 30th Senate District
- Cale Battles State BAr of Wisconsin
- Executive Director Matt Johnson Wisconsin Troopers' Association
- Steve Conway WIFOP
- Alice OConnor WPPA

#### Registrations Against

- Alyson Branch TPR
- Shawn Page
- Brandon W

#### Registrations for Information Only

• None.

#### June 03, 2021 Executive Session Held

| Present: | (15) | Representative Spiros; Representatives      |
|----------|------|---|
|          |      | Horlacher, Sortwell, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, |
|          |      | Krug, James, Steffen, Callahan, McGuire,    |
|          |      | Bowen, Emerson, Stubbs and Drake.           |
| Absent:  | (0)  | None.                                       |
| Excused: | (0)  | None.                                       |

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative Duchow that **Assembly Bill 329** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (11) Representative Spiros; Representatives Horlacher, Sortwell, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, Krug, James, Steffen, Callahan and Stubbs.
- Noes: (4) Representatives McGuire, Bowen, Emerson and Drake.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 4

Ericka Braatz Committee Clerk