# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

#### **Assembly Bill 330**

Relating to: school resource officers.

By Representatives Steineke, Stubbs, Dittrich, Armstrong, Baldeh, Cabral-Guevara, Duchow, Edming, Goyke, Gundrum, Katsma, Kitchens, Krug, Kurtz, Loudenbeck, Macco, Milroy, Moses, Mursau, Novak, Petryk, Schraa, Spiros, Steffen, Tranel, Wittke and Zimmerman; cosponsored by Senators Roth, L. Taylor, Wanggaard and Ballweg.

May 18, 2021 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

May 27, 2021 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (14) Representative Spiros; Representatives
Horlacher, Sortwell, Duchow, Novak, Schraa,
James, Steffen, Callahan, McGuire, Bowen,
Emerson, Stubbs and Drake.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Krug.

#### Appearances For

- Rep. Jim Steineke 5th Assembly District
- Rep. Shelia Stubbs 77th Assembly District
- Andrew Wagner Milwaukee Police Association
- Orlando Owens
- Jim Palmer Wisconsin Professional Police Association
- Ken Pileggi Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association
- Aaron Chapin Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association
- Patrick Mitchell Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association
- Zachary Holschbach Wisconsin State Lodge Fraternal Order of Police
- Ryan Windorff Wisconsin State Lodge Fraternal Order of Police
- Jordan Primakow City of Milwaukee
- Pamela Holme
- Sheriff Nate Dreckman Badger State Sheriffs; WI Sheriffs and Deputy Sheriffs

#### Appearances Against

Rebecca Burrell

- Tiffany Henry
- Kamila Ahmed The People's Revolution

# Appearances for Information Only

• None.

# Registrations For

- Cale Battles State BAr of Wisconsin
- Executive Director Matt Johnson Wisconsin Troopers' Association
- Steve Conway WIFOP
- Alice OConnor WPPA

#### Registrations Against

• Alyson Branch - TPR

## Registrations for Information Only

None.

## June 03, 2021 Executive Session Held

Present: (15) Representative Spiros; Representatives
Horlacher, Sortwell, Duchow, Novak, Schraa,
Krug, James, Steffen, Callahan, McGuire,
Bowen, Emerson, Stubbs and Drake.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative Duchow that **Assembly Bill 330** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (11) Representative Spiros; Representatives Horlacher, Sortwell, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, Krug, James, Steffen, Callahan and Stubbs.

Noes: (4) Representatives McGuire, Bowen, Emerson and Drake.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 4

Ericka Braatz
Committee Clerk