## **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

### **Assembly Bill 333**

Relating to: crisis program enhancement grants.

By Representatives Steineke, Stubbs, Armstrong, Baldeh, Cabral-Guevara, Cabrera, Dittrich, Edming, Goyke, Gundrum, Kitchens, Krug, Kurtz, Loudenbeck, Macco, Milroy, Mursau, Novak, Petryk, Schraa, Spiros, Steffen, Tauchen, Tittl, Tranel, Wittke and Zimmerman; cosponsored by Senators Wanggaard, L. Taylor, Ballweg and Pfaff.

May 18, 2021 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

May 27, 2021 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (14) Representative Spiros; Representatives
Horlacher, Sortwell, Duchow, Novak, Schraa,
James, Steffen, Callahan, McGuire, Bowen,
Emerson, Stubbs and Drake.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Krug.

#### Appearances For

- Rep. Jim Steineke 5th Assembly District
- Rep. Shelia Stubbs 77th Assembly District
- Andrew Wagner Milwaukee Police Association
- Orlando Owens
- Jim Palmer Wisconsin Professional Police Association
- Ken Pileggi Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association
- Aaron Chapin Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association
- Patrick Mitchell Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association
- Zachary Holschbach Wisconsin State Lodge Fraternal Order of Police
- Ryan Windorff Wisconsin State Lodge Fraternal Order of Police
- Jordan Primakow City of Milwaukee
- Pamela Holme
- Sheriff Nate Dreckman Badger State Sheriffs; WI Sheriffs and Deputy Sheriffs

### Appearances Against

Rebecca Burrell

- Tiffany Henry
- Kamila Ahmed The People's Revolution

#### Appearances for Information Only

None.

#### Registrations For

- Sen. Van Wanggaard 21st Senate District
- Cale Battles State BAr of Wisconsin
- Sarah Diedrick-Kasdorf WI Counties Association
- Executive Director Matt Johnson Wisconsin Troopers' Association
- Steve Conway WIFOP
- Alice OConnor WPPA

#### Registrations Against

Alyson Branch - TPR

### Registrations for Information Only

None.

## June 03, 2021 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (15) Representative Spiros; Representatives
Horlacher, Sortwell, Duchow, Novak, Schraa,
Krug, James, Steffen, Callahan, McGuire,
Bowen, Emerson, Stubbs and Drake.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative McGuire that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (14) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, Krug, James, Steffen, Callahan, McGuire, Bowen, Emerson, Stubbs and Drake.

Noes: (1) Representative Horlacher.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 1

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative Stubbs that **Assembly Bill 333** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (15) Representative Spiros; Representatives Horlacher, Sortwell, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, Krug, James, Steffen, Callahan, McGuire, Bowen, Emerson, Stubbs and Drake.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 15, Noes 0

Ericka Braatz

Committee Clerk