Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

Assembly Bill 127

Relating to: sexual contact by a law enforcement officer with a person in detainment or custody and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Thiesfeldt, Rozar, Anderson, Bowen, Brostoff, Cabrera, Gundrum, Krug, Moses, Mursau, L. Myers, Ortiz-Velez, Spreitzer, Subeck and Stubbs; cosponsored by Senators L. Taylor, Wanggaard, Jacque, Ballweg, Bradley, Larson, Ringhand and Smith.

March 05, 2021 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

June 17, 2021 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (15) Representative Spiros; Representatives
Horlacher, Sortwell, Duchow, Novak, Schraa,
Krug, James, Steffen, Callahan, McGuire,
Bowen, Emerson, Stubbs and Drake.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Rep. Jeremy Thiesfeldt 52nd Assembly District
- Sen. Lena Taylor 4th Senate District
- Andrew Wagner Milwaukee Police Association
- Ian Henderson Wisconsin Coalition Against Sexual Assault

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

• None.

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

June 23, 2021 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (13) Representative Spiros; Representatives
Horlacher, Sortwell, Duchow, Novak, James,
Steffen, Callahan, McGuire, Bowen, Emerson,
Stubbs and Drake.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Schraa and Krug.

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative Duchow that **Assembly Bill 127** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (13) Representative Spiros; Representatives
Horlacher, Sortwell, Duchow, Novak,
James, Steffen, Callahan, McGuire, Bowen,
Emerson, Stubbs and Drake.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Ericka Braatz Committee Clerk