## **Assembly**

## **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety**

### Assembly Bill 251

Relating to: impersonating a public officer, public employee, or employee of a utility and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Callahan, Brandtjen, Cabrera, Edming, Gundrum, Kuglitsch, Moses, Mursau, Schraa, Stubbs and Wichgers; cosponsored by Senators Jacque, Agard and Ballweg.

April 08, 2021	Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety				
August 25, 2021	Public Hearing Held				
	Present:	(14)	Representative Spiros; Representatives Horlacher, Sortwell, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, James, Steffen, Callahan, McGuire, Bowen, Emerson, Stubbs and Drake.		
	Absent:	(0)	None.		
	Excused:	(1)	Representative Krug.		
	<ul> <li><u>Appearances For</u></li> <li>Representative Calvin Callahan - 35th Assembly District</li> <li>Brenda Wood - City of Milwaukee</li> </ul>				
	Appearances Against <ul> <li>None.</li> </ul>				
		<u>es for l</u> Ione.	Information Only		
	Registrations For				
	• S	en. An	dre Jacque - 1st Senate District		
	• Joe Strohl - Professional Fire Fighters of Wisconsin				
	• J	erry De	eschane - League of Municipalities		
	• A	lice O	Connor - WI Professional Police Association		
	• R	Rob Ric	hard - WI Electric Cooperative Association		
	• T	ïm Hei	nrich - Municipal Electric Utilities of Wisconsin		
	• J	ordan I	amb - Customers First! Coalition		
	• N	<b>Aatthew</b>	Spencer - Madison Gas & Electric Co.		

Registrations Against

• None.

#### Registrations for Information Only

• None.

September 08, 2021 Executive Session Held

Present:	(14)	Representative Spiros; Representatives
		Horlacher, Sortwell, Duchow, Novak, Schraa,
		James, Steffen, Callahan, McGuire, Bowen,
		Emerson, Stubbs and Drake.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(1)	Representative Krug.

Moved by Representative Horlacher, seconded by Representative Sortwell that **Assembly Bill 251** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (14) Representative Spiros; Representatives Horlacher, Sortwell, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, James, Steffen, Callahan, McGuire, Bowen, Emerson, Stubbs and Drake.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Ericka Braatz Committee Clerk