Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

Assembly Bill 619

Relating to: decriminalizing fentanyl testing strips.

By Representatives James, Zimmerman, Ortiz-Velez, Krug, Armstrong, Moses, Cabral-Guevara, Emerson, Milroy, Tittl, Magnafici, Baldeh, Spiros, Plumer, Snodgrass, Dittrich, Summerfield, Drake, Sinicki, Callahan, Billings, Hesselbein, Conley, Subeck, Stubbs, Spreitzer, Considine, Shelton, B. Meyers, Duchow, Allen, Tusler, Mursau, Schraa, Bowen, Horlacher, Knodl and Cabrera; cosponsored by Senators Wanggaard, L. Taylor, Larson, Carpenter, Ringhand, Agard and Cowles.

October 14, 2021 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

October 20, 2021 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (15) Representative Spiros; Representatives
Horlacher, Sortwell, Duchow, Novak, Schraa,
Krug, James, Steffen, Callahan, McGuire,
Bowen, Emerson, Stubbs and Drake.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Representative Jesse James 68th Assembly District
- Rep. Sylvia Ortiz-Velez 8th Assembly District
- Kristin Grimes Vivent Health
- Bill Keeton Vivent Health
- Dr. Ritu Bhatnagar WI Medical Society
- George Moore
- Dick Niles

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Senator Van Wanggaard 21st Senate District
- Senator Lena Taylor 4th Senate District
- Mark Grapentine WI Medical Society
- Sharel Rogers WI Association of Treatment of Opioid Dependence

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

November 10, 2021 Executive Session Held

Present: (13) Representative Spiros; Representatives Horlacher, Sortwell, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, James, Steffen, Callahan, McGuire, Bowen,

Emerson and Stubbs.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Krug and Drake.

Moved by Representative Novak, seconded by Representative Duchow that **Assembly Bill 619** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (13) Representative Spiros; Representatives
Horlacher, Sortwell, Duchow, Novak,
Schraa, James, Steffen, Callahan, McGuire,
Bowen, Emerson and Stubbs.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Ericka Braatz Committee Clerk