# Assembly

## **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety**

#### **Assembly Bill 495**

Relating to: possession of a firearm in a vehicle on school grounds by a person with a license to carry a concealed weapon.

By Representatives Brooks, Armstrong, Behnke, Brandtjen, Callahan, Cabral-Guevara, Dittrich, Gundrum, Horlacher, Knodl, Moses, Murphy, Schraa, Tittl and Wichgers; cosponsored by Senators Jacque, Ballweg, Felzkowski, Nass and Wanggaard.

August 04, 2021	Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety				
January 05, 2022	Public Hearing Held				
	Present:	(12)	Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Duchow, Novak, Krug, James, Steffen, Callahan, McGuire, Bowen, Stubbs and Drake.		
	Absent:	(0)	None.		
	Excused:	(3)	Representatives Horlacher, Schraa and Emerson.		
	Appearances For				
	• 5	Senator A	Andre Jacque - 1st Senate District		
	• F	Rob Kov	rach - Wisconsin Firearm Owners Association		
	Appearances Against <ul> <li>None.</li> </ul>				
	<ul><li><u>Appearances for Information Only</u></li><li>None.</li></ul>				
	Registrations For				
	• F	Represen	tative Rob Brooks - 60th Assembly District		
		Holly Ot	-		
		•	Velch - WI Bear Hunter's Association		
	• F	Robert W	Velch - WI Firearm Owners		

#### Registrations Against

- John Forester School Administrators Alliance
- Dan Rossmiller Wisconsin Association of School Boards
- Dee Pettack WI Department of Public Instruction
- Jack O'Meara Wisconsin Education Association Council

## Registrations for Information Only

• None.

## January 12, 2022 Executive Session Held

Present:	(13)	Representative Spiros; Representatives		
		Horlacher, Sortwell, Duchow, Novak, Schraa,		
		James, Steffen, Callahan, McGuire, Bowen,		
		Stubbs and Drake.		
Absent:	(0)	None.		
Excused:	(2)	Representatives Krug and Emerson.		

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative Horlacher that **Assembly Bill 495** be recommended for passage.

Ayes:	(9)	Representative Spiros; Representatives Horlacher, Sortwell, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, James, Steffen and Callahan.
Noes:	(4)	Representatives McGuire, Bowen, Stubbs and Drake.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 4

Ericka Braatz Committee Clerk