Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

Assembly Bill 832

Relating to: increasing the law enforcement training reimbursement.

By Representatives Callahan, Armstrong, Behnke, Born, Brandtjen, Dallman, Dittrich, Edming, Gundrum, James, Katsma, Kitchens, Knodl, Krug, Kuglitsch, Kurtz, Macco, Magnafici, Mursau, Novak, Penterman, Petersen, Petryk, Plumer, J. Rodriguez, Sanfelippo, Snyder, Sortwell, Spiros, Steffen, Swearingen, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Tranel and Cabral-Guevara; cosponsored by Senators Jacque and Nass.

January 07, 2022 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

January 12, 2022 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (13) Representative Spiros; Representatives
Horlacher, Sortwell, Duchow, Novak, Schraa,
James, Steffen, Callahan, McGuire, Bowen,
Stubbs and Drake.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Krug and Emerson.

Appearances For

- Senator Andre Jacque 1st Senate District
- Representative Calvin Callahan 35th Assembly District
- Mike Steffes WI Chiefs of Police Association
- Dean Smith WI Chiefs of Police Association
- Ryan Windorff WI FOP
- Sheriff Kurt Picknell Badger State Sheriffs & WI Sheriffs & Deputy Sheriffs

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Alice O'Connor WI Professional Police Association
- Jordan Primakow City of Milwaukee
- Andrew Wagner Milwaukee Police Association
- Ken Peliggi WI Chiefs of Police Association
- Jim Palmer WPPA
- Aaron Chapin WI Chiefs of Police Association

- Steve Conway WI FOP
- Marcie Rainbolt WI Counties Association

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

Executive Session Held January 18, 2022

Present: (14)Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, Krug, James, Steffen, Callahan, McGuire, Bowen,

Emerson, Stubbs and Drake.

Absent: (0)None.

Excused: (1) Representative Horlacher.

Moved by Representative McGuire, seconded by Representative Emerson that Assembly Substitute Amendment 1 be recommended for adoption.

> Ayes: (4) Representatives McGuire, Emerson, Stubbs and Drake.

Representative Spiros; Representatives Noes: (8) Sortwell, Duchow, Novak, Krug, James, Steffen and Callahan.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION, Ayes 4, Noes 8

Moved by Representative Steffen, seconded by Representative Callahan that Assembly Bill 832 be recommended for passage.

> Representative Spiros; Representatives Ayes: (9) Sortwell, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, Krug, James, Steffen and Callahan.

Representatives McGuire, Bowen, Emerson, Noes: Stubbs and Drake.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 5

Ericka Braatz Committee Clerk