Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

Assembly Bill 833

Relating to: grants to support part-time law enforcement officers.

By Representatives Dallman, Armstrong, Behnke, Brandtjen, Callahan, Dittrich, Edming, Gundrum, James, Kitchens, Knodl, Krug, Kuglitsch, Kurtz, Loudenbeck, Macco, Murphy, Mursau, Novak, Oldenburg, Penterman, Petersen, Plumer, J. Rodriguez, Sanfelippo, Schraa, Skowronski, Snyder, Sortwell, Spiros, Steffen, Swearingen, Tittl, Tranel and Cabral-Guevara; cosponsored by Senators Roth, Ballweg, Darling, Jacque, Marklein and Nass.

January 07, 2022 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

January 12, 2022 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (13) Representative Spiros; Representatives
Horlacher, Sortwell, Duchow, Novak, Schraa,
James, Steffen, Callahan, McGuire, Bowen,
Stubbs and Drake.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Krug and Emerson.

Appearances For

- Representative Alex Dallman 41st Assembly District
- Mike Steffes WI Chiefs of Police Association
- Ken Pileggi WI Chiefs of Police Association
- Ryan Windorff WI FOP
- Sheriff Kurt Picknell Badger State Sheriffs & WI Sheriffs & Deputy Sheriffs

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Senator Roger Roth 19th Senate District
- Jim Palmer WPPA
- Aaron Chapin WI Chiefs of Police Association
- Alice O'Connor WI Professional Police Association
- Andrew Wagner Milwaukee Police Association

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

January 18, 2022 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (14) Representative Spiros; Representatives
Sortwell, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, Krug,
James, Steffen, Callahan, McGuire, Bowen,
Emerson, Stubbs and Drake.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Horlacher.

Moved by Representative McGuire, seconded by Representative Drake that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (4) Representatives McGuire, Emerson, Stubbs and Drake.

Noes: (8) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Duchow, Novak, Krug, James, Steffen and Callahan.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION, Ayes 4, Noes 8

Moved by Representative Novak, seconded by Representative Krug that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (8) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Duchow, Novak, Krug, James, Steffen and Callahan.

Noes: (4) Representatives McGuire, Emerson, Stubbs and Drake.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 4

Moved by Representative Sortwell, seconded by Representative Duchow that **Assembly Bill 833** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (9) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, Krug, James, Steffen and Callahan.

Noes: (5) Representatives McGuire, Bowen, Emerson, Stubbs and Drake.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 5

Ericka Braatz Committee Clerk