## **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

#### **Assembly Bill 837**

Relating to: grants for law enforcement officer recruiting and bonuses for law enforcement officers.

By Representatives Penterman, Behnke, Armstrong, Born, Callahan, Dittrich, Edming, Gundrum, James, Kitchens, Knodl, Krug, Kuglitsch, Kurtz, Macco, Magnafici, Mursau, Novak, Oldenburg, Petersen, Petryk, Plumer, J. Rodriguez, Sanfelippo, Skowronski, Snyder, Sortwell, Steffen, Swearingen, Thiesfeldt, Tranel and Zimmerman; cosponsored by Senators Roth, Darling, Marklein and Nass.

January 07, 2022 Referred to Committee on Criminal Justice and Public Safety

January 12, 2022 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (13) Representative Spiros; Representatives
Horlacher, Sortwell, Duchow, Novak, Schraa,
James, Steffen, Callahan, McGuire, Bowen,
Stubbs and Drake.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Krug and Emerson.

#### Appearances For

- Representative William Penterman 37th Assembly District
- Sheriff Kurt Picknell Badger State Sheriffs & WI Sheriffs & Deputy Sheriffs
- Andrew Wagner Milwaukee Police Association
- Ken Peliggi WI Chiefs of Police Association
- Mike Steffes WI Chiefs of Police Association
- Ryan Windorff WI FOP

#### Appearances Against

• None.

## Appearances for Information Only

None.

#### Registrations For

- Senator Roger Roth 19th Senate District
- Jim Palmer WPPA
- Aaron Chapin WI Chiefs of Police Association
- Steve Conway WI FOP

• Alice O'Connor - WI Professional Police Association

### Registrations Against

• None.

## Registrations for Information Only

• Jordan Primakow - City of Milwaukee

## January 18, 2022 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (14) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, Krug, James, Steffen, Callahan, McGuire, Bowen, Emerson, Stubbs and Drake.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Horlacher.

Moved by Representative McGuire, seconded by Representative Emerson that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (5) Representatives McGuire, Bowen, Emerson, Stubbs and Drake.

Noes: (8) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Duchow, Novak, Krug, James, Steffen and Callahan.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION, Ayes 5, Noes 8

Moved by Representative Krug, seconded by Representative Novak that **Assembly Bill 837** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (9) Representative Spiros; Representatives Sortwell, Duchow, Novak, Schraa, Krug, James, Steffen and Callahan.

Noes: (5) Representatives McGuire, Bowen, Emerson, Stubbs and Drake.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 5

Ericka Braatz

Committee Clerk