## **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

### **Committee on Education**

#### Assembly Bill 196

Relating to: designating athletic sports and teams operated or sponsored by public schools or private schools participating in a parental choice program based on the sex of the participants.

By Representatives Dittrich, Brandtjen, Cabral-Guevara, Rozar, Tittl, Gundrum, Sortwell, Tusler, Plumer, Skowronski, James, Allen, Kuglitsch, Moses, Ramthun and Sanfelippo; cosponsored by Senators Bernier, Jacque and Nass.

March 25, 2021 Referred to Committee on Education

May 26, 2021 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (12) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives Kitchens, Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers, Duchow, Rozar, Behnke, Pope, Considine, Vruwink and L. Myers.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Mursau and Hebl.

#### Appearances For

- Rep. Dittrich
- Rep. Brandtjen
- Beth Stelzer Save Women's Sports
- Sarah Parshall Perry The Heritage Foundation
- Miriam Ben-Shalom
- Ray Hacker Pacific Justice Institute
- Sherry Mix Save Womens Sports
- Leah Pickett Save Womens Sports
- Thistle Pettersen WLRN & Save Womens Sports
- Emily Pohn Save Womens Sports
- Julaine Appling WI Family Action
- Larry Haas WI Catholic Conference
- Leia Schneeberger
- Mary Jo Walters Save Womens Sports
- Kerri Bruss

#### Appearances Against

- Dr. Brittany Allen WI American Academy of Pediatrics
- Marc Herstand Natl Association of Social Workers
- Jenna Gormal End Abuse WI

- Ian Henderson WI Coalition Against Sexual Assault
- Elizabeth Fernandez State Bar of WI Civil Rights & Liberties Section
- Susan Fox Monona Grove School Board
- Hope Owens-Wilson ACLU of WI
- Sara Lennertz WI School Social Work Association
- Brian Juchems GSAFE
- Ryan Jayne Freedom from Religion Foundation
- Wendy Strout Human Rights Campaign
- Rachel Growl
- Sarah Yonen
- Katherine Walton
- Mark Nessel
- Sara Lazenby
- Dr. Kathy Oriel
- Jason Sowles
- Lydia Rhoads
- Quince Mountain
- Kathy Flores
- Amira Pierotti
- Sagan Pizziugrilli
- Stephanie Parmenter
- Andi Janenay
- Elly McGraw Chybowslei
- Mary Van De Loo
- Helen Boyd
- Osha Toweb
- Laura Gutknecht
- Ollie Heide
- Lola Hernandez
- Ash Lyke
- Nikolaus Spittlemeister
- Emily Mills

#### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

### Registrations For

• Senator Bernier

#### Registrations Against

- Rep. Neubauer
- Andy Engel WIAA
- Patrick Farabaugh

- Nate Wolff
- Brianna Baylor
- Kelly Moe Litke
- Grant Huber DPI
- Amber Souards
- Paige Olson NASW
- Beth Allen
- Lynne Davis State Bar of WI Civil Rights & Liberties Section
- Zachary Nunn
- Cody Gentz
- Olirus Gibbs
- Connie Schulze UW Health
- Chris Thiel Milwaukee Public Schools
- Natalee Hartwig
- Ellen Sweeney
- John Forester
- Dan Rossmiller WASB
- Bob Baxter WEAC
- Senator Carpenter
- Cory Neeley
- Andrew Boydston
- Tassa Boydston
- David Heide
- Vica Steel
- James McKenzie
- Tracy Phillippi
- Rachel Chisman
- Peter Beeson
- Mary Wichete
- Samantha Skenandore
- Katie Hayden
- Megin McDonell Fair WI
- Ginger Baien
- Courtney Rudjznhinz
- Amy Lyle
- Ashley Green
- Chris Johnson
- F Miller
- Michael Mirer
- Amber Lefers
- Amanda Hall

### Registrations for Information Only

None.

#### June 09, 2021 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (13) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives

Kitchens, Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers, Mursau,

Duchow, Rozar, Behnke, Pope, Hebl,

Considine and L. Myers.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Vruwink.

Moved by Representative Ramthun, seconded by Representative Wichgers that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (9) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives Kitchens, Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers,

Mursau, Duchow, Rozar and Behnke.

Noes: (0) None.

Recused: (4) Representatives Pope, Hebl,

Considine and L. Myers.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Behnke, seconded by Representative Rozar that **Assembly Bill 196** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (9) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives

Kitchens, Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers, Mursau, Duchow, Rozar and Behnke.

Noes: (4) Representatives Pope, Hebl, Considine and

L. Myers.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 4

Rep. Vruwink would have voted no on passage of Assembly Bill 196 had he been present.

Katie Scott

Committee Clerk