Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Assembly Bill 893

Relating to: grants to support the teaching of college courses in high schools. By Representatives Murphy, Brandtjen, Cabral-Guevara, Edming, Gundrum, Horlacher, Kuglitsch, L. Myers, Penterman, Spiros and Steffen; cosponsored by Senators Kooyenga, Ballweg, Darling and Felzkowski.

January 21, 2022 Referred to Committee on Education

February 01, 2022 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (13) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives

Kitchens, Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers, Mursau, Rozar, Behnke, Penterman, Pope, Hebl,

Considine and Vruwink.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Duchow.

Appearances For

- Rep. Murphy
- Senator Kooyenga
- Michael Sereno Elmbrook School
- Dan Rossmiller WI Association of School Boards

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- John Forester School Administrators Alliance
- President Morna Foy WI Technical College System
- Layla Merrifield WI Technical College District Boards Association
- Deej Lundgren UW System
- Dr. Rolf Wegenke WI Association of Independent Colleges and Universities
- Dee Pettack DPI
- Dan Rossmiller WI Association of School Boards

Registrations Against

None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

February 10, 2022 Executive Session Held

Present: (12) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives
Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers, Mursau, Duchow,
Rozar, Behnke, Pope, Hebl, Considine and
Vruwink.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (3) Representatives Kitchens, Penterman and L.

Myers.

Moved by Representative Rozar, seconded by Representative Behnke that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (12) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers, Mursau, Duchow, Rozar, Behnke, Pope, Hebl, Considine and Vruwink.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Wichgers, seconded by Representative Behnke that **Assembly Bill 893** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (12) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers, Mursau, Duchow, Rozar, Behnke, Pope, Hebl, Considine and Vruwink.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Katie Scott

Committee Clerk