Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Assembly Bill 899

Relating to: requiring one credit of personal financial literacy for high school graduation.

By Representatives Dallman, Behnke, Cabral-Guevara, Edming, Knodl, Krug, Magnafici, Murphy, Mursau, Penterman and Ramthun; cosponsored by Senators Ballweg, Feyen and Marklein.

January 21, 2022 Referred to Committee on Education

February 01, 2022 Public Hearing Held

Present: (13) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives

Kitchens, Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers, Mursau, Rozar, Behnke, Penterman, Pope, Hebl,

Considine and Vruwink.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Duchow.

Appearances For

- Rep. Dallman
- Senator Ballweg
- Laura Schoe
- Laura Schoenike
- Olivia Welh
- Jenna Hribar
- Patrick Kubeny
- JaJuan Hoskins
- Hunter St. Louis
- William Petkauski
- Kerri Herrild
- Patrick Rorabeck SecureFutures
- Joel Chrisler
- Richard Entenmann
- Bill McCoshen NAIFA National Association of Insurance & Financial Advisors

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Alice O'Connor WI Institute of CPAs
- Katrina Kuheny
- Carrie Knutson
- Alicia Schueitzer Next Gen Personal Finance
- Colton Leman
- Koldyn Gechas
- Samuel Rutkowski
- Laurie Rutkowski
- John Cronin WI Bankers Association

Registrations Against

- Bryn Horton Sun Prairie Area School District
- Dee Pettack DPI
- John Forester School Administrators Alliance
- Dan Rossmiller WI Association of School Boards

Registrations for Information Only

None.

February 10, 2022 Executive Session Held

Present: (12) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers, Mursau, Duchow, Rozar, Behnke, Pope, Hebl, Considine and Vruwink.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (3) Representatives Kitchens, Penterman and L. Myers.

Moved by Representative Wittke, seconded by Representative Duchow that **Assembly Bill 899** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (8) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers, Mursau, Duchow, Rozar and Behnke.

Noes: (4) Representatives Pope, Hebl, Considine and Vruwink.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 4

Katie Scott
Committee Clerk