Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Assembly Bill 963

Relating to: rights reserved to a parent or guardian of a child.

By Representatives Gundrum, Thiesfeldt, Wittke, Murphy, Penterman, Moses, Steffen, Vorpagel, Brandtjen, Rozar, Knodl and Macco; cosponsored by Senators Darling, Roth, Wanggaard and Nass.

February 08, 2022 Referred to Committee on Education

February 10, 2022 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (13) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives

Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers, Mursau, Duchow,

Rozar, Behnke, Pope, Hebl, Considine,

Vruwink and L. Myers.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Kitchens and Penterman.

Appearances For

- Rep. Gundrum
- Libby Sobic WILL
- Scarlett Johnson
- Amber Schroeder
- Alyssa Pollow
- Emily Donohue FAIR
- Amanda Nedweski Moms for Liberty
- Julaine Appling WI Family Action
- Peggy Moede
- Scott Frostman

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Senator Darling
- Chris Reader IRG Action Fund
- Amber Infuseno Moms for Liberty
- Justin Moralez American Federation for Children
- Erin Runk WI United for Freedom

Registrations Against

- Julie Underwood League of Women Voters
- Megan O'Halloran
- Dee Pettack DPI
- Ann Cattau
- Michael Lindsay
- Heather DuBois Bourenane
- John Forester School Administrators Alliance
- Martha Siravo
- Bryn Horton Sun Prairie Public Schools
- Jim Shaw
- Michael Walsh
- Tim Nordin
- Beth Ivancovic Eau Claire Special Education PTA

Registrations for Information Only

None.

February 16, 2022 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (14) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives
Kitchens, Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers, Mursau,
Duchow, Rozar, Behnke, Pope, Hebl,
Considine, Vruwink and L. Myers.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Penterman.

Moved by Representative Wittke, seconded by Representative Duchow that **Assembly Bill 963** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (9) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives Kitchens, Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers, Mursau, Duchow, Rozar and Behnke.

Noes: (5) Representatives Pope, Hebl, Considine, Vruwink and L. Myers.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 5

Katie Scott
Committee Clerk