## **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

### **Committee on Education**

#### **Assembly Bill 964**

Relating to: increasing the school property tax credit due to virtual instruction during the 2021-22 school year.

By Representatives Thiesfeldt, Wittke, Brandtjen, Gundrum, Knodl, Macco, Magnafici, Moses, Murphy, Rozar and Steffen; cosponsored by Senators Darling, Roth and Wanggaard.

February 08, 2022 Referred to Committee on Education

February 10, 2022 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (13) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives

Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers, Mursau, Duchow,

Rozar, Behnke, Pope, Hebl, Considine,

Vruwink and L. Myers.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Kitchens and Penterman.

#### Appearances For

- Rep. Thiesfeldt
- John Jacobson WI Property Taxpayers
- Chris Reader IRG Action Fund

#### Appearances Against

• None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

None.

#### Registrations For

- Senator Darling
- Frank Chapman
- Lisa Taylor-Boerner
- Kenneth Myers
- Paul Stakes
- Hans Lenzlinger
- Darla Crogg
- Michael John Hablewitz
- David Knuth
- Chad Pecrul
- Douglas Darrow

- Catherine Buth
- Andrew McMyler
- Marie Rasmussen-Hall
- Tony Walker
- Kurt Knope
- Joseph Zakrzewski
- Kathleen Bonhoff
- Chuck Knower
- David Lemke
- Deb Helt
- Eric Dreger
- Jeffrey May
- Lonny Damewood
- Mark Tabola
- David Beggs
- Boyd Dosch
- Douglas Kelly
- Steven Aganite
- Larry Statz
- Jon Werkmeister
- Cory Tomczylc
- Marie Rasmussen-Hall
- David Jahns
- Valerie Weber
- Blake Dahlby
- Tammi Braser

#### Registrations Against

- Julie Underwood League of Women Voters
- Heather DuBois Bourenarc
- Beth Ivankovic Eau Claire Special Ed PTA
- Bryn Horton Sun Prairie Public Schools
- Jim Shaw
- Tim Nordin
- John Forester School Administrators Alliance
- Martha Siravo
- Michael Walsh
- Megan O'Halloran
- Michael Lindsay
- Dee Pettack DPI
- Ann Cattau
- Dan Rossmiller WI Association of School Boards

#### Registrations for Information Only

None.

#### February 16, 2022 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (14) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives

Kitchens, Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers, Mursau,

Duchow, Rozar, Behnke, Pope, Hebl, Considine, Vruwink and L. Myers.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Penterman.

Moved by Representative Rozar, seconded by Representative Behnke that **Assembly Bill 964** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (9) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives Kitchens, Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers, Mursau, Duchow, Rozar and Behnke.

Noes: (5) Representatives Pope, Hebl, Considine, Vruwink and L. Myers.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 5

Katie Scott
Committee Clerk