Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Assembly Bill 965

Relating to: the components, methods, and formulas the Department of Public Instruction uses to publish school and school district accountability reports and granting rule-making authority.

By Representatives Wittke, Thiesfeldt, Allen, Brandtjen, Gundrum, Knodl, Macco, Magnafici, Murphy and Neylon; cosponsored by Senators Darling, Roth, Stroebel, Wanggaard and Ballweg.

February 08, 2022 Referred to Committee on Education

February 10, 2022 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (13) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives
Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers, Mursau, Duchow,
Rozar, Behnke, Pope, Hebl, Considine,
Vruwink and L. Myers.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Kitchens and Penterman.

Appearances For

- Rep. Wittke
- Isral DeBruin City Forward Collective
- Libby Sobic WILL

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Sen. Darling
- Chris Reader IRG Action Fund
- Andrew Davis MMAC
- Scott Frostman

Registrations Against

- Heather DuBois Bourenare
- Tim Nordin
- Jim Shaw
- Bryn Horton Sun Prairie Public Schools

- Martha Siravo
- Michael Walsh
- John Forester School Administrators Alliance
- Michael Lindsay
- Megan O'Halloran
- Dee Pettack DPI
- Ann Cattau
- Dan Rossmiller WI Association of School Boards
- Beth Ivankovic

Registrations for Information Only

• Jim Bender - School Choice WI Action

February 16, 2022 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (14) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives
Kitchens, Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers, Mursau,
Duchow, Rozar, Behnke, Pope, Hebl,
Considine, Vruwink and L. Myers.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Penterman.

Moved by Representative Wittke, seconded by Representative Duchow that **Assembly Bill 965** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (9) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives Kitchens, Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers, Mursau, Duchow, Rozar and Behnke.

Noes: (5) Representatives Pope, Hebl, Considine, Vruwink and L. Myers.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 5

Katie Scott

Committee Clerk