# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

### **Committee on Education**

#### Assembly Bill 966

Relating to: reorganizing the Milwaukee Public School System into four to eight school districts and creating a Milwaukee Public Schools Redistricting and Implementation Commission.

By Representatives Wittke, Thiesfeldt, Brandtjen, Gundrum, Knodl, Kuglitsch, Macco, Magnafici, Murphy and Vorpagel; cosponsored by Senators Darling and Roth.

February 08, 2022 Referred to Committee on Education

February 16, 2022 Public Hearing Held

Present: (14) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives

Kitchens, Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers, Mursau, Duchow, Rozar, Behnke, Pope, Hebl,

Considine, Vruwink and L. Myers.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Penterman.

# Appearances For

- Rep. Wittke
- Senator Darling
- Chris Reader IRG Action Fund

#### Appearances Against

- Keith Posley MPS Superintendent
- Bob Peterson MPS
- Dan Soiney
- Jennifer Hofschulte

#### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

## Registrations For

• None.

#### Registrations Against

- Patrick Hixtz South Milwaukee School Board
- Heather DuBois Bourenure
- Todd Price
- Ann Zielke
- Heather Birk

- Amy Steuer
- Bryn Horton Sun Prairie School Board
- Cavalier Johnson City of Milwaukee Mayor
- John Forester School Administrators Alliance
- Dan Rossmiller WI Association of School Boards
- Dee Pettack DPI
- Jack O'Meara WEAC
- Rep. Myers

## Registrations for Information Only

• Nick Probst - City Forward Collective

### February 17, 2022 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (13) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives
Kitchens, Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers, Mursau,
Rozar, Behnke, Pope, Hebl, Considine,
Vruwink and L. Myers.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Duchow and Penterman.

Moved by that Assembly Bill 966 be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (7) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers, Mursau, Rozar and Behnke.

Noes: (6) Representatives Kitchens, Pope, Hebl, Considine, Vruwink and L. Myers.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 6

Katie Scott

Committee Clerk