Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Assembly Bill 967

Relating to: high-performing charter schools authorized by school boards. By Representatives Wittke, Thiesfeldt, Dittrich, Brandtjen, Knodl, Macco, Magnafici, Murphy and Rozar; cosponsored by Senators Darling, Roth, Stroebel and Wanggaard.

February 08, 2022 Referred to Committee on Education

February 16, 2022 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (14) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives

Kitchens, Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers, Mursau,

Duchow, Rozar, Behnke, Pope, Hebl, Considine, Vruwink and L. Myers.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Penterman.

Appearances For

- Rep. Wittke
- Libby Sobic WILL
- Andrew Davis MMAC

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Senator Darling
- Justin Moralez American Federation for Children
- Nick Probst City Forward Collective
- Rachel VerVelde WMC
- Chris Reader IRG Action Fund

Registrations Against

- Patrick Hintz South Milwaukee School Board
- Jack O'Meara WEAC
- Dee Pettack DPI
- Dan Rossmiller WI Association of School Boards
- John Forester School Administrators Alliance

- Heather DuBois Bourenanc
- Bryn Horton Sun Prairie School District
- Todd Price
- Ann Zielke
- Heather Birk
- Amy Stevens
- Jenni Hofschulte

Registrations for Information Only

None.

February 17, 2022 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (13) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives
Kitchens, Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers, Mursau,
Rozar, Behnke, Pope, Hebl, Considine,
Vruwink and L. Myers.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Duchow and Penterman.

Moved by Representative Wichgers, seconded by Representative Wittke that **Assembly Bill 967** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (8) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives Kitchens, Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers, Mursau, Rozar and Behnke.

Noes: (5) Representatives Pope, Hebl, Considine, Vruwink and L. Myers.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 5

Katie Scott
Committee Clerk