## Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Education**

## **Assembly Bill 968**

Relating to: creating a Charter School Authorizing Board and allowing the board to authorize independent charter schools.

By Representatives Wittke, Thiesfeldt, Dittrich, Brandtjen, Gundrum, Knodl, Macco, Magnafici and Rozar; cosponsored by Senators Darling, Roth, Stroebel, Wanggaard and Ballweg.

February 08, 2022	Referred to Committee on Education				
February 16, 2022	Public Hearing Held				
	Present:	(14)	Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives Kitchens, Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers, Mursau, Duchow, Rozar, Behnke, Pope, Hebl, Considine, Vruwink and L. Myers.		
	Absent:	(0)	None.		
	Excused:	(1)	Representative Penterman.		
	Appearances For				
	• Rep. Wittke				
	•	Julie Zao	ccaria		
	•	Libby S	obic - WILL		
	Appearances Against				
	٠	None.			
	Appearances for Information Only				
	•	None.			
	Registrations For				
	Senator Darling				
	•	Jim Ben	der		
	•	Andrew	Davis - MMAC		
	•	Nick Probst - City Forward Collective			
	٠	Justin M	loralez - American Federation for Children		
	•	Chris Re	eader - IRG Action Fund		

• Rachel VerVelde - WMC

Registrations Against

- Patrick Hintz South Milwaukee School Board
- Jack O'Meara WEAC

- Dee Pettack DPI
- Dan Rossmiller WI Association of School Boards
- John Forester School Administrators Alliance
- Heather DuBois Bourenane
- Bryn Horton Sun Prairie School Board
- Todd Price
- Ann Zielk
- Heather Birk
- Amy Stener
- Jenni Hofschulte

#### Registrations for Information Only

• None.

### February 17, 2022 Executive Session Held

Present:	(13)	Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives
		Kitchens, Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers, Mursau,
		Rozar, Behnke, Pope, Hebl, Considine,
		Vruwink and L. Myers.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(2)	Representatives Duchow and Penterman.

Moved by Representative Wichgers, seconded by Representative Wittke that **Assembly Bill 968** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (8) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives Kitchens, Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers, Mursau, Rozar and Behnke.
- Noes: (5) Representatives Pope, Hebl, Considine, Vruwink and L. Myers.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 5

Katie Scott Committee Clerk