# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Education**

## Assembly Bill 975

Relating to: substitute teacher permits issued by the Department of Public Instruction.

By Representative Thiesfeldt; cosponsored by Senator Darling.

February 14, 2022 Referred to Committee on Education

February 16, 2022 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (14) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives
Kitchens, Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers, Mursau,
Duchow, Rozar, Behnke, Pope, Hebl,
Considine, Vruwink and L. Myers.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Penterman.

#### Appearances For

- Rep. Thiesfeldt
- Senator Darling
- Ted Neitzke CESA 6
- Chad Buboltz Neenah Joint School District
- Dan Rossmiller WI Association of School Boards
- Todd Price

## Appearances Against

• Patrick Hintz - SM School Board

## Appearances for Information Only

None.

#### Registrations For

- Sharon Schmeling WI Council of Religious & Independent Schools
- Barbara Sella WI Catholic Conference
- John Forester School Administrators Alliance
- Dee Pettack DPI
- Jim Bender

#### Registrations Against

- Jack O'Meara WEAC
- Heather DuBois Bourenane

• Bryn Horton - Sun Prairie School Board

## Registrations for Information Only

None.

## February 17, 2022 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (13) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives
Kitchens, Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers, Mursau,
Rozar, Behnke, Pope, Hebl, Considine,
Vruwink and L. Myers.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Duchow and Penterman.

Moved by Representative Kitchens, seconded by Representative Wichgers that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (9) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives Kitchens, Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers, Mursau, Rozar, Behnke and L. Myers.

Noes: (4) Representatives Pope, Hebl, Considine and Vruwink.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 4

Moved by that **Assembly Bill 975** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (13) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives Kitchens, Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers, Mursau, Rozar, Behnke, Pope, Hebl, Considine, Vruwink and L. Myers.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Katie Scott

Committee Clerk