Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Education

Assembly Bill 969

Relating to: reporting to law enforcement certain crimes and other incidents that occur in or on public school buildings and grounds, requiring certain schools to employ armed school resource officers, and allocating federal American Rescue Plan Act of 2021 funding to reimburse schools for costs of employing armed school resource officers.

By Representatives Duchow, Magnafici, Wittke and Dittrich.

February 08, 2022 Referred to Committee on Education

February 10, 2022 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (13) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers, Mursau, Duchow, Rozar, Behnke, Pope, Hebl, Considine,

Vruwink and L. Myers.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Kitchens and Penterman.

Appearances For

- Rep. Duchow
- Libby Sobic WILL

Appearances Against

- Cendi Tena Leaders Igniting Transformation
- Andrea Lozane Leaders Igniting Transformation
- Sheesenphooyu Moua Freedom Action Now
- Amanda Avalow Leaders Igniting Transformation
- Lamonte Moore Leaders Igniting Transformation

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

• None.

Registrations Against

- Julie Underwood League of Women Voters
- Bryn Horton Sun Prairie Public Schools
- Martha Siravo
- Michael Walsh
- Jim Shaw

- Tim Nordin
- John Forester School Administrators Alliance
- Heather DuBois Bourenarc
- Michael Lindsay
- Megan O'Halloran
- Dee Pettack DPI
- Ann Cattau
- Dan Rossmiller WI Association of School Boards
- Beth Ivankovic Eau Claire Special Ed PTA
- Rep. Hong

Registrations for Information Only

None.

February 16, 2022 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (14) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives Kitchens, Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers, Mursau,

Duchow, Rozar, Behnke, Pope, Hebl, Considine, Vruwink and L. Myers.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Penterman.

Moved by that **Assembly Bill 969** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (9) Representative Thiesfeldt; Representatives Kitchens, Wittke, Ramthun, Wichgers, Mursau, Duchow, Rozar and Behnke.

Noes: (5) Representatives Pope, Hebl, Considine, Vruwink and L. Myers.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 5

Katie Scott Committee Clerk