Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Energy and Utilities

Assembly Bill 27

Relating to: making various changes to statutes administered by the Public Service Commission and requiring investor-owned energy utilities to fund a consumer advocate.

By Representative Kuglitsch; cosponsored by Senator Bradley, by request of Public Service Commission of Wisconsin.

January 29, 2021 Referred to Committee on Energy and Utilities

February 24, 2021 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (14) Representative Kuglitsch; Representatives
Steffen, Oldenburg, Petryk, Neylon, Vorpagel,
Tauchen, Petersen, Horlacher, B. Meyers,
Subeck, Andraca, Moore Omokunde and S.
Rodriguez.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Tranel.

Appearances For

- Rep. Mike Kuglitsch 84th Assembly District
- Senator Julian Bradley 28th Senate District
- Chairperson Rebecca Valcq Public Service Commission
- Matt Sweeney Public Service Commission
- Tom Content Citizens Utility Board
- Corey Singletary Citizens Utility Board
- Bill Smith National Federation of Independent Business
- Bill Skewes Wisconsin Utility Association

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Matt Spencer Madison Gas & Electric
- Matt Pagel Xcel Energy
- Joseph Owen WPPI Energy
- Chris LaRowe Wisconsin Public Service

- Joel Haubrich WEC Energy Group
- Brian Dake Wisconsin Independent Business
- James Buchen Wisconsin Utility Investors
- Elise Nelson Alliant Energy

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

March 03, 2021 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (14) Representative Kuglitsch; Representatives Steffen, Tranel, Oldenburg, Petryk, Neylon, Tauchen, Petersen, Horlacher, B. Meyers, Subeck, Andraca, Moore Omokunde and S. Rodriguez.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Vorpagel.

Moved by Representative Horlacher, seconded by Representative Meyers that **Assembly Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (14) Representative Kuglitsch; Representatives Steffen, Tranel, Oldenburg, Petryk, Neylon, Tauchen, Petersen, Horlacher, B. Meyers, Subeck, Andraca, Moore Omokunde and S. Rodriguez.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Steffen, seconded by Representative Horlacher that **Assembly Bill 27** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (14) Representative Kuglitsch; Representatives Steffen, Tranel, Oldenburg, Petryk, Neylon, Tauchen, Petersen, Horlacher, B. Meyers, Subeck, Andraca, Moore Omokunde and S. Rodriguez.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 0

Garrett Huffman

Committee Clerk