Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Energy and Utilities

Assembly Bill 489

Relating to: changing the phase-out of utility aid payments for decommissioned power plants.

By Representatives Oldenburg, Plumer, Cabral-Guevara, Considine, Gundrum, Krug, Rozar, Snyder, Spiros, Tauchen, Tittl, VanderMeer and Tusler; cosponsored by Senators Ballweg, Cowles, Petrowski, Pfaff and Wanggaard.

August 04, 2021 Referred to Committee on Energy and Utilities

December 08, 2021 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(13)	Representative Kuglitsch; Representatives
		Steffen, Tranel, Oldenburg, Petryk, Neylon,
		Vorpagel, Petersen, Horlacher, B. Meyers,
		Andraca, Moore Omokunde and S. Rodriguez.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(2)	Representatives Tauchen and Subeck.

Appearances For

- Rep Loren Oldenburg 96th Assembly District
- David Spect-Boardman 14th Senate District
- Jennifer Shilling Dairyland Power Cooperative
- Lois Schepp Columbia County
- Emma Millholland Wisconsin Counties Association
- Dan Bahr Wisconsin Counties Association
- Jerry Derr
- Jolene Plautz Wisconsin Utility Tax Association

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Jim Boullion RENEW Wisconsin
- Alice O'Connor Wisconsin County Utility Tax Association
- Zachary Hill Alliant Energy
- Scott Coenen Wisconsin Conservative Energy Forum
- Matt Spencer Madison Gas & Electric

- Chris LaRowe WEC Energy Group
- Joel Haubrich WEC Energy Group
- Bill Skewes Wisconsin Utilities Association
- Curt Witynski League of Wisconsin Municipalities
- Rob Richard Wisconsin Electric Cooperative Association
- Matt Pagel Xcel Energy

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 03, 2022 Executive Session Held

Present:	(15)	Representative Kuglitsch; Representatives
		Steffen, Tranel, Oldenburg, Petryk, Neylon,
		Vorpagel, Tauchen, Petersen, Horlacher, B.
		Meyers, Subeck, Andraca, Moore Omokunde
		and S. Rodriguez.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Moved by Representative Oldenburg, seconded by Representative Steffen that Assembly Substitute Amendment 3 be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes: (13) Representative Kuglitsch; Representatives Steffen, Oldenburg, Petryk, Neylon, Vorpagel, Tauchen, Horlacher, B. Meyers, Subeck, Andraca, Moore Omokunde and S. Rodriguez.
- Noes: (2) Representatives Tranel and Petersen.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 3 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 2

Moved by Representative Oldenburg, seconded by Representative Vorpagel that **Assembly Bill 489** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (13) Representative Kuglitsch; Representatives Steffen, Oldenburg, Petryk, Neylon, Vorpagel, Tauchen, Horlacher, B. Meyers, Subeck, Andraca, Moore Omokunde and S. Rodriguez.

Noes: (2) Representatives Tranel and Petersen.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 2

Garrett Huffman Committee Clerk