Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Energy and Utilities

Assembly Bill 573

Relating to: broadband mapping and the use of certain federal funds for wireless broadband and cellular service expansion grants.

By Representatives Steffen, Armstrong, Dittrich, Kuglitsch, Loudenbeck, Macco, Moses, Murphy, Penterman, Tittl, Wichgers and Zimmerman; cosponsored by Senators Wimberger, Bernier and Nass.

September 22, 2021 Referred to Committee on Energy and Utilities

December 08, 2021 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(13)	Representative Kuglitsch; Representatives
		Steffen, Tranel, Oldenburg, Petryk, Neylon,
		Vorpagel, Petersen, Horlacher, B. Meyers,
		Andraca, Moore Omokunde and S. Rodriguez.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(2)	Representatives Tauchen and Subeck.

Appearances For

- Rep David Steffen 4th Assembly District
- Stephanie Cassioppi US Cellular

Appearances Against

• Bill Esbeck - Wisconsin State Telecommunications Association

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

• Matt Phillips - Health Tech Solutions/ Solarity

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• Tom Moore - Wisconsin Cable Communications Association

February 03, 2022 Executive Session Held

Present:	(15)	Representative Kuglitsch; Representatives
		Steffen, Tranel, Oldenburg, Petryk, Neylon,
		Vorpagel, Tauchen, Petersen, Horlacher, B.
		Meyers, Subeck, Andraca, Moore Omokunde
		and S. Rodriguez.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Moved by Representative Tranel, seconded by Representative Steffen that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes:	(10)	Representative Kuglitsch; Representatives Steffen, Tranel, Oldenburg, Petryk, Neylon, Vorpagel, Tauchen, Petersen and Horlacher.
Noes:	(5)	Representatives B. Meyers, Subeck, Andraca, Moore Omokunde and S.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 5

Rodriguez.

Moved by Representative Steffen, seconded by Representative Tranel that **Assembly Bill 573** be recommended for passage as amended.

- Ayes: (10) Representative Kuglitsch; Representatives Steffen, Tranel, Oldenburg, Petryk, Neylon, Vorpagel, Tauchen, Petersen and Horlacher.
- Noes: (5) Representatives B. Meyers, Subeck, Andraca, Moore Omokunde and S. Rodriguez.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 10, Noes 5

Garrett Huffman Committee Clerk