Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Financial Institutions

Assembly Bill 587

Relating to: fees imposed on merchants in connection with credit card transactions and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Vorpagel, Armstrong, Cabral-Guevara, Callahan, Dallman, Edming, Gundrum, James, Kitchens, Knodl, Moses, Neylon, Novak, Oldenburg, Penterman, Rozar, Sinicki, Schraa, Sortwell, Spiros, Swearingen, Tauchen, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, VanderMeer and Wittke; cosponsored by Senators Feyen, Wanggaard, Bradley, Felzkowski, Jagler, Pfaff, Roys, Stroebel and Testin.

September 30, 2021 Referred to Committee on Financial Institutions

October 21, 2021 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(8)	Representative Duchow; Representatives
		Katsma, Allen, Murphy, Horlacher, Doyle, B.
		Meyers and Brostoff.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(1)	Representative Petryk.

Appearances For

- Representative Tyler Vorpagel 27th Assembly District
- Douglas Parrott Wisconsin Petroleum Marketers & Convenience Store Association
- Matt Hauser Wisconsin Petroleum Marketers & Convenience Store Association
- Kristine Hillmer Wisconsin Restaurant Association
- Jon Jossart Wisconsin Hotel and Lodging Association
- Bill G. Smith National Federation of Independent Business
- Michelle Harrington Albrecht's Sentry Delafield
- Joe Zietlow Kwik Trip
- Jolene Plautz Kwik Trip
- Mike Buck Consumers Cooperative Association of Eau Claire/ WPMCA
- Jon Crawford Crawford Oil & Propane
- Daniel Loeder

Appearances Against

- Lorenzo Cruz Wisconsin Bankers Association
- Gary Kuter Capitol Bank

- Steven J. Rauschenberger The Electronic Payment Coalition
- Elisa M. Rollo The Stephenson National Bank & Trust
- Jude Lengell North Shore Bank
- Kristen Gagliano North Shore Bank
- Jeff Vohs SENB Bank

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Senator Dan Feyen 18th Senate District
- Michelle Kussow Wisconsin Grocers Association
- Kathi Kilgore Wisconsin Hotel and Lodging Association
- Bill Elliott Wisconsin Hotel and Lodging Association
- Susan Quam Wisconsin Restaurant Association
- Misha Lee Midwest Hardware Association
- Matt Phillips Tavern League of Wisconsin
- Brian Dake Wisconsin Independent Businesses
- Gary Manke Midwest Southeastern Equipment Dealers Association

Registrations Against

- Toni A. Bellissimo Card Coalition
- Brian Tate Innovative Payments Association
- Mike Boettcher Fortifi Bank
- Jim Hegenbarth Park Bank
- Wendy Jirsa Capitol Bank
- Rene Kaiser Capitol Bank
- Kari Harpold Capitol Bank
- Anne Conlin Capitol Bank
- Ken Thompson Capitol Bank
- Sarah Wainscott The Wisconsin Credit Union League

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

March 10, 2022 Failed to pass pursuant to Senate Joint Resolution 1

Dan Hubert Committee Clerk