# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# Committee on Government Accountability and Oversight

#### **Assembly Bill 17**

Relating to: various changes to the worker's compensation law.

By Representatives Horlacher, Emerson, Allen, Brandtjen, Callahan, Dittrich, Edming, Kerkman, Kuglitsch, Loudenbeck, Milroy, Mursau, Novak, Petryk, Ramthun, Thiesfeldt, Shelton and Spreitzer; cosponsored by Senators Jacque, Wanggaard, Bewley, Agard, Ballweg, Nass, Pfaff, Ringhand, L. Taylor and Johnson.

January 29, 2021 Referr Oversight

Referred to Committee on Government Accountability and

## March 04, 2021 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (7) Representative Knodl; Representatives Brandtjen, Kuglitsch, Thiesfeldt, Krug, Emerson and Drake.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Steffen and Neubauer.

## Appearances For

- Rep. Cody Horlacher 33rd Assembly District
- Sen. Andre Jacque 1st Senate District
- Rep. Jodi Emerson 91st Assembly District
- Lt. Melissa Wiesner WI Law Enforcement Death Response Team
- Jim Palmer Wisconsin Professional Police Association
- Chief Ken Pileggi WI Chiefs of Police Association
- Chief Pat Mitchell WI Chiefs of Police Association
- Ryan Vossekuil WI Chiefs of Police Association
- Mike Steffes WI Chiefs of Police Association
- Chief Aaron Chapin WI Chiefs of Police Association
- Mahlon Mitchell Professional Fire Fighters of Wisconsin
- Stephen Raclaw Professional Fire Fighters of Wisconsin
- Brent Jones Professional Fire Fighters of Wisconsin
- Devon Anders Professional Fire Fighters of Wisconsin
- Andrew Wagner Milwaukee Police Association
- Brian Dake Wisconsin Independent Business

#### Appearances Against

• None.

## Appearances for Information Only

None.

# Registrations For

- Steve Lions WI Chiefs of Police Association
- Caty McDermott Badger State Sheriffs' Association,
  Wisconsin Sheriffs & Deputy Sheriffs Association
- Paul Guilbert III
- Angela Koziczkowski
- Steve Wilding

### Registrations Against

None.

# Registrations for Information Only

- Steven Peters DWD
- Jennifer Cole DWD

### March 09, 2021 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (8) Representative Knodl; Representatives

Brandtjen, Steffen, Thiesfeldt, Krug, Emerson,

Neubauer and Drake.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Kuglitsch.

Moved by Representative Krug, seconded by Representative Thiesfeldt that **Assembly Bill 17** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (8) Representative Knodl; Representatives Brandtjen, Steffen, Thiesfeldt, Krug,

Emerson, Neubauer and Drake.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 0

James Mietus

Committee Clerk