Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Government Accountability and Oversight

Assembly Bill 110

Relating to: public access to policies regarding the use of force by law enforcement.

By Representatives Spiros, Armstrong, Bowen, Brandtjen, Moses and Rozar; cosponsored by Senators Wanggaard, L. Taylor, Darling, Cowles, Feyen, Jacque and Roys.

February 18, 2021 Referred to Committee on Government Accountability and Oversight

May 18, 2021	Public Hearing Held		
	Present:	(8)	Representative Knodl; Representatives Brandtjen, Kuglitsch, Thiesfeldt, Krug, Emerson, Neubauer and Drake.
	Absent:	(0)	None.
	Excused:	(1)	Representative Steffen.

Appearances For

- Senator Van Wanggard 21st Senate District
- Senator Lena Taylor 4th Senate District
- Representative David Bowen 10th Assembly District
- Ken Pileggi Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association
- Pat Mitchell Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association
- Mike Steffes Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association
- Julie Grace Badger Institute
- Ryan Windorff Wisconsin Fraternal Order of Police

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Representative John Spiros 86th Assembly District
- Representative Sheila Stubbs 77th Assembly District
- Representative Jim Steineke 5th Assembly District
- Barbara Sella Wisconsin Catholic Conference
- James Palmer Wisconsin Professional Police Association

- Alice O'Connor Wisconsin Professional Police Association
- Steve Conway Wisconsin Fraternity of Police
- Lynne Davis State Bar of Wisconsin
- Caty McDermott Badger State Sheriffs' Association; Wisconsin Sheriffs & Deputy Sheriffs Association
- Eric Bott Americans for Prosperity

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

June 02, 2021 Executive Session Held

Present:	(8)	Representative Knodl; Representatives		
		Kuglitsch, Steffen, Thiesfeldt, Krug, Emerson,		
		Neubauer and Drake.		
Absent:	(0)	None.		
Excused:	(1)	Representative Brandtjen.		

Moved by Representative Neubauer, seconded by Representative Krug that **Assembly Bill 110** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (8) Representative Knodl; Representatives Kuglitsch, Steffen, Thiesfeldt, Krug, Emerson, Neubauer and Drake.
- Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 0

James Mietus Committee Clerk