Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Government Accountability and Oversight

Assembly Bill 590

October 06, 2021

Relating to: prohibiting state agency employees, state elected officials, federal government agency employees, and certain state individuals holding a national office from influencing social media Internet sites to censor users and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Sortwell, Cabral-Guevara, Brandtjen, Edming, Horlacher, Knodl and Kuglitsch; cosponsored by Senators Roth, Stroebel, Felzkowski, Nass and Darling.

September 30, 2021 Referred to Committee on Government Accountability and Oversight

Present: (8) Representative Knodl; Representatives Kuglitsch, Steffen, Thiesfeldt, Krug, Emerson, Neubauer and Drake.
Absent: (0) None.
Excused: (1) Representative Brandtjen.

Appearances For

Public Hearing Held

• Rep. Shae Sortwell - 2nd Assembly District

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

• Charles Hagen

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

January 11, 2022 **Executive Session Held**

Present:	(6)	Representative Knodl; Representatives
		Brandtjen, Steffen, Thiesfeldt, Neubauer and
		Drake.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(3)	Representatives Kuglitsch, Krug and Emerson.

January 18, 2022 Executive Session Held

Present:	(9)	Representative Knodl; Representatives
		Brandtjen, Kuglitsch, Steffen, Thiesfeldt, Krug,
		Emerson, Hintz and Drake.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(0)	None.

Moved by Representative Steffen, seconded by Representative Kuglitsch that **Assembly Amendment 2** be recommended for adoption.

- Ayes: (6) Representative Knodl; Representatives Brandtjen, Kuglitsch, Steffen, Thiesfeldt and Krug.
- Noes: (3) Representatives Emerson, Hintz and Drake.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 3

Moved by Representative Steffen, seconded by Representative Kuglitsch that **Assembly Bill 590** be recommended for passage as amended.

- Ayes: (6) Representative Knodl; Representatives Brandtjen, Kuglitsch, Steffen, Thiesfeldt and Krug.
- Noes: (3) Representatives Emerson, Hintz and Drake.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 3

James Mietus Committee Clerk