Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Health

Assembly Bill 396

Relating to: advanced practice registered nurses, extending the time limit for emergency rule procedures, providing an exemption from emergency rule procedures, and granting rule-making authority.

By Representatives Cabral-Guevara, Magnafici, Brandtjen, Brooks, Callahan, Gundrum, Kitchens, Knodl, Krug, Kuglitsch, Kurtz, Macco, Murphy, Petersen, J. Rodriguez, Rozar, Skowronski, Snyder, Tauchen, Tittl, Tusler, Wichgers, Riemer and Dittrich; cosponsored by Senators Testin, Felzkowski, Marklein, Stroebel and Jacque.

June 14, 2021 Referred to Committee on Health

July 29, 2021 Public Hearing Held

Present: (13) Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives Summerfield, Wichgers, VanderMeer, Murphy, Magnafici, Dittrich, Rozar, Moses, Cabral-Guevara, Subeck, Anderson and Vining.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (3) Representatives Skowronski, Riemer and S. Rodriguez.

Appearances For

- State Sen. Pat Testin 24th District
- State Rep. Rachael Cabral-Guevara 55th Assembly District
- State Rep. Gae Magnafici 28th Assembly District
- Gina Dennik-Champion WI Nurses Association
- Tina Bettin
- Jeff Bauer
- MaryAnn Moon
- Dr. Mary Beck Metzger
- Jean Roedel
- Curtis Thompson WIANA
- Christine Roth WIANA
- Tina Nelson WIACNS
- Patrice Fedel
- Joanne Archer
- MaryAnne Scherer American College of Nurse Midwives - WI

- Sarah Tyler-Peterson American College of Nurse Midwives - WI
- Mark Tyler OEM Fabricators, INC.
- Jill Redding
- Kristin Cleary
- Margaret Schmetzer
- Denise Turnmeyer
- Denise Turnmeyer
- Gina Bryan
- Pamela Watson Konrath WIACNS

Appearances Against

- Laura Wyatt
- Elizabeth Yun WI Society of Anesthesiologists
- Mark Grapentine WI Medical Society
- Dr. Nicole Hemkes
- Dr. Elizabeth Menzel WI Academy of Family Physicians
- James Nicholson WSA
- Kyle Nichols WSA
- Kristin Bevil WSA

Appearances for Information Only

- Matthew Stanford WI Hospital Association
- Barbara Nichols

Registrations For

- Karla Ashenhurst United Health
- Kathleen Kochinski
- Christine Wallis
- Kate Hartman
- Carolee Czarnecki
- Julie MacKenzie
- Diane Melrose
- April Garcia
- Forbes Mcintosh Oneida Nation
- Michael Pochowski WI Assisted Living Association
- Victoria Foeger
- Tina Beth
- Jeffrey Bauer
- Sarah Kruger
- Jay Gottschalk
- Kathy Bruning WI Association of Clinical Nurse Specialists

- Jennifer Popies
- Annette Garcia
- Joseph Beiler
- Bob Welch WI Nurses Association
- Bob Welch Concordia University
- Anne Putzer
- Melissa Paulson-Conger
- Steve Lyons Health Tradition Health Plan
- Steve Lyons WEA Trust
- Scott Manley WMC
- Rebecca Hogan American College of Nurse Midwives
- Megan Novak Americans for Prosperity WI
- Diane Schadewald

Registrations Against

Katie Fink

Registrations for Information Only

Cathy Tinsley

January 12, 2022 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (15) Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives
Summerfield, Wichgers, VanderMeer, Murphy,
Magnafici, Dittrich, Rozar, Moses, CabralGuevara, Subeck, Riemer, Anderson, Vining
and S. Rodriguez.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Skowronski.

Moved by Representative Wichgers, seconded by Representative Murphy that Assembly Amendment 2 to Assembly Substitute Amendment 1 be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (13) Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives Summerfield, Wichgers, VanderMeer, Murphy, Magnafici, Dittrich, Cabral-Guevara, Subeck, Riemer, Anderson, Vining and S. Rodriguez.

Noes: (2) Representatives Rozar and Moses.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 2 TO ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 2

Moved by Representative Wichgers, seconded by Representative Murphy that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (14) Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives
Summerfield, Wichgers, VanderMeer,
Murphy, Magnafici, Dittrich, Moses,
Cabral-Guevara, Subeck, Riemer, Anderson,
Vining and S. Rodriguez.

Noes: (1) Representative Rozar.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 14, Noes 1

Moved by Representative Murphy, seconded by Representative Wichgers that **Assembly Bill 396** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (9) Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives Summerfield, Wichgers, Murphy, Magnafici, Dittrich, Cabral-Guevara, Riemer and S. Rodriguez.

Noes: (6) Representatives VanderMeer, Rozar, Moses, Subeck, Anderson and Vining.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 6

Joshua Hoisington Committee Clerk