Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Health

Assembly Bill 595

Relating to: sex-selective, disability-selective, and other selective abortions and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Dittrich, Gundrum, Spiros, Schraa, Penterman, Kuglitsch, Loudenbeck, Allen, Katsma, Summerfield, Callahan, J. Rodriguez, Horlacher, Tittl, Knodl, Thiesfeldt, Tusler, Magnafici and Edming; cosponsored by Senators Testin, Bradley, Jagler, Kapenga, Stroebel, Felzkowski, Darling, Nass, LeMahieu, Marklein, Bernier and Roth.

October 04, 2021 Referred to Committee on Health

October 07, 2021 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(15)	Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives
		Summerfield, Wichgers, VanderMeer,
		Skowronski, Murphy, Magnafici, Dittrich,
		Rozar, Moses, Subeck, Riemer, Anderson,
		Vining and S. Rodriguez.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(1)	Representative Cabral-Guevara.

Appearances For

- State Representative Barb Dittrich 38th Assembly District
- State Sen. Pat Testin
- Tara Sander Lee Charlotte Lozier Institute
- Deborah Nevrsimal
- Gianna Nevrsimal
- Gracie Skogman WI RIght to Life
- Micah Pearce WI Family Action

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Barbara Sella WI Catholic Conference
- Dawn Nuofter Down Syndrome Association of WI
- Heather Weininger WI RIght to Life

• Debra Demuth

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

October 19, 2021 Executive Session Held

Present:	(13)	Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives Summerfield, Wichgers, VanderMeer, Skowronski, Murphy, Magnafici, Dittrich, Moses, Cabral-Guevara, Subeck, Riemer and
		Anderson.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(3)	Representatives Rozar, Vining and S. Rodriguez.

Moved by Representative Murphy, seconded by Representative Magnafici that **Assembly Bill 595** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (9) Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives Summerfield, VanderMeer, Skowronski, Murphy, Magnafici, Dittrich, Moses and Cabral-Guevara.
- Noes: (4) Representatives Wichgers, Subeck, Riemer and Anderson.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 4

Joshua Hoisington Committee Clerk