Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Health

Assembly Bill 6

Relating to: requirements for children born alive following abortion or attempted abortion and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Steineke, Cabral-Guevara, Callahan, Dallman, Duchow, Edming, Gundrum, Katsma, Knodl, Petersen, Petryk, Plumer, Ramthun, Rozar, Skowronski, Snyder, Tranel, Zimmerman, Jagler, Magnafici, Neylon, Spiros, Steffen, Born, Schraa, Dittrich, Thiesfeldt and Tittl; cosponsored by Senators Roth, Bradley, Darling, Felzkowski, Marklein, Nass, Wanggaard, Wimberger, Ballweg, Stroebel, Kapenga, Bernier, Cowles, Feyen, Kooyenga, LeMahieu, Petrowski, Stafsholt and Testin.

January 21, 2021 Referred to Committee on Health

October 07, 2021 Public Hearing Held

Present: (15) Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives Summerfield, Wichgers, VanderMeer, Skowronski, Murphy, Magnafici, Dittrich, Rozar, Moses, Subeck, Riemer, Anderson, Vining and S. Rodriguez.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Cabral-Guevara.

Appearances For

• State Rep. Jim Steineke

Appearances Against

- Matt Sande Pro Life WI
- Micah Pearce WI Family Acion

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Heather Weininger WI RIght to Life
- Barbara Sella WI Catholic Conference
- Debra Demuth
- Grace Skogman WI Right to Life

Registrations Against

- Mark Grapentine WI Medical Society
- Tim Hoven WI Academy of Family Physicians

Registrations for Information Only

None.

October 19, 2021 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (13) Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives

Summerfield, Wichgers, VanderMeer, Skowronski, Murphy, Magnafici, Dittrich, Moses, Cabral-Guevara, Subeck, Riemer and

Anderson.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (3) Representatives Rozar, Vining and S.

Rodrigue z.

Moved by Representative Summerfield, seconded by Representative Skowronski that **Assembly Bill 6** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (9) Representative Sanfelippo; Representatives Summerfield, VanderMeer, Skowronski,

Murphy, Magnafici, Dittrich, Moses and

Cabral-Guevara.

Noes: (4) Representatives Wichgers, Subeck, Riemer

and Anderson.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 4

Joshua Hoisington Committee Clerk