## **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Housing and Real Estate**

#### Assembly Bill 399

Relating to: interest on claims of excessive assessment and for recovery of unlawful property taxes.

By Representatives Brooks, Allen, Armstrong, Brandtjen, Cabral-Guevara, Edming, Gundrum, James, Knodl, Kuglitsch, Novak, Schraa, Spiros, Subeck, Tittl, VanderMeer and Tusler; cosponsored by Senators Petrowski, Ballweg, Cowles, Ringhand and L. Taylor.

June 14, 2021 Referred to Committee on Housing and Real Estate

#### August 25, 2021 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (9) Representative Summerfield; Representatives Allen, Pronschinske, Murphy, Kitchens, Penterman, Haywood, Emerson and Ortiz-Velez.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Brooks.

#### Appearances For

- Chris Schaefer Office of State Rep. Rob Brooks
- Joe Ruth Wisconsin Towns Association
- Jerry Deschane League of Wisconsin Municipalities
- Shannon Krause League of Wisconsin Municipalities

#### Appearances Against

• None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

None.

#### Registrations For

- Senator Jerry Petrowski Office of State Senator Jerry Petrowski
- Cori Lamont Wisconsin Realtors Association
- Brenda Wood City of Milwaukee

#### Registrations Against

None.

#### Registrations for Information Only

None.

### September 07, 2021 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (9) Representative Summerfield; Representatives

Allen, Brooks, Pronschinske, Murphy, Kitchens, Penterman, Haywood and Ortiz-

Velez.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Emerson.

Moved by Representative Brooks, seconded by Representative Murphy that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (9) Representative Summerfield; Representatives Allen, Brooks, Pronschinske, Murphy, Kitchens, Penterman, Haywood and Ortiz-Velez.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Allen, seconded by Representative Haywood that **Assembly Bill 399** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (9) Representative Summerfield;
Representatives Allen, Brooks,
Pronschinske, Murphy, Kitchens,
Penterman, Haywood and Ortiz-Velez.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 0

Mitchell Goettl

Mitchell Goettl Committee Clerk