Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Jobs and the Economy

Assembly Bill 888

Relating to: talent attraction and retention initiatives focusing on veterans. By Representatives VanderMeer, Magnafici, Armstrong, Brandtjen, Cabral-Guevara, Dittrich, Gundrum, James, Kerkman, Krug, Kuglitsch, Kurtz, Loudenbeck, Murphy, Mursau, Penterman, Petryk, Rozar, Snyder, Sortwell, Steffen, Tauchen and Wichgers; cosponsored by Senators Wimberger, Ballweg and Marklein.

January 21, 2022 Referred to Committee on Jobs and the Economy

February 08, 2022 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (13) Representative Wittke; Representatives
Armstrong, Snyder, Magnafici, Rozar, Macco,
Dittrich, Neylon, Tittl, Ohnstad, Bowen, Doyle
and Shelton.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Rep. Nancy VanderMeer Assembly District 70
- Sen. Eric Wimberger Senate District 30
- Michael Welsh WI Economic Development Association
- Angel Whitehead Heart of Wisconsin Chamber of Commerce
- Ryan Healy Superior Crane Corp
- Suzanne Kelley Waukesha County Business Alliance
- Rachel Ver Velde WMC

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

• None.

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

February 09, 2022 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (12) Representative Wittke; Representatives

Armstrong, Snyder, Magnafici, Rozar, Macco, Dittrich, Tittl, Ohnstad, Bowen, Doyle and

Shelton.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Neylon.

Moved by Representative Ohnstad, seconded by Representative Shelton that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (4) Representatives Ohnstad, Bowen, Doyle and Shelton.

Noes: (8) Representative Wittke; Representatives Armstrong, Snyder, Magnafici, Rozar, Macco, Dittrich and Tittl.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION, Ayes 4, Noes 8

Moved by Representative Magnafici, seconded by Representative Tittl that **Assembly Bill 888** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (9) Representative Wittke; Representatives Armstrong, Snyder, Magnafici, Rozar, Macco, Dittrich, Tittl and Doyle.

Noes: (3) Representatives Ohnstad, Bowen and Shelton.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 3

Terri Griffiths

Committee Clerk