Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Judiciary

Assembly Bill 829

Relating to: mandatory minimum sentence for three or more convictions for retail theft and providing a penalty.

By Representatives Brandtjen, Allen, Behnke, Gundrum, James, Kuglitsch, Magnafici, Murphy, Penterman, Sanfelippo and Thiesfeldt; cosponsored by Senators Stroebel, Jacque and Nass.

January 07, 2022	Referred	to Committee	on Judiciary
------------------	----------	--------------	--------------

January 12, 2022 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(8)	Representatives Kerkman, Ramthun,	
		Thiesfeldt, Horlacher, Sortwell, Cabrera, Hebl	
		and Ortiz-Velez.	
Absent:	(0)	None.	
Excused:	(1)	Representative Tusler.	

Appearances For

- Senator Duey Stroebel 20th Senate District
- Representative Janel Brandtjen
- Alexander Ayala Milwaukee Police Association
- Andrew Wagner Milwaukee Police Association
- Ryan Windorff Wisconsin State Lodge Fraternal Order of Police
- James Hyland Roundy's & Wisconsin Grocers Association

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Steve Conway Wisconsin State Lodge Fraternal Order of Police
- Evan Umpir Wisconsin Manufacturers & Commerce

Registrations Against

• Mia Noel

- Lynne Davis State Bar of Wisconsin Criminal Law Section
- Marcie Rainbolt Wisconsin Counties Association
- Adam Plotkin State Public

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

January 19, 2022 Executive Session Held

Present:	(8)	Representative Tusler; Representatives	
		Kerkman, Ramthun, Thiesfeldt, Sortwell,	
		Cabrera, Hebl and Ortiz-Velez.	
Absent:	(0)	None.	
Excused:	(1)	Representative Horlacher.	

Moved by Representative Kerkman, seconded by Representative Ramthun that **Assembly Bill 829** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (5) Representative Tusler; Representatives Kerkman, Ramthun, Thiesfeldt and Sortwell.
- Noes: (3) Representatives Cabrera, Hebl and Ortiz-Velez.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 3

Kathryn Heitman Committee Clerk