## **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on Labor and Integrated Employment**

#### **Assembly Bill 883**

Relating to: various changes to the unemployment insurance law, a grant program for hiring qualified long-term unemployment recipients, allocation of federal American Rescue Plan Act of 2021 funding for certain purposes, the state plan under the federal Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act of 2014, federal Reemployment Services and Eligibility Assessment grants, employment outcome data reporting, extending the time limit for emergency rule procedures, providing an exemption from emergency rule procedures, and granting rule-making authority.

By Representatives Petryk, Penterman, Armstrong, Born, Dittrich, Duchow, Edming, Knodl, Kuglitsch, Loudenbeck, Moses, Mursau, Petersen, Thiesfeldt, Tittl, Wichgers and Wittke; cosponsored by Senators Roth, Ballweg, Bernier and Feyen.

January 21, 2022 Referred to Committee on Labor and Integrated Employment

January 26, 2022 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (9) Representative Edming; Representatives VanderMeer, Knodl, Schraa, Petryk, Gundrum, Sinicki, Ohnstad and Hong.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

#### Appearances For

- Rep. Warren Petryk 93rd Assembly District
- Rep. William Penterman 37th Assembly District
- Brian Dake Wisconsin Independent Businesses

## Appearances Against

• None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

#### Registrations For

- Bill Smith National Federation of Independent Business
- Sam Adolphsen Opportunity Solutions Project

#### Registrations Against

None.

### Registrations for Information Only

None.

## February 10, 2022 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (9) Representative Edming; Representatives

VanderMeer, Knodl, Schraa, Petryk, Gundrum,

Sinicki, Ohnstad and Hong.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Knodl, seconded by Representative Gundrum that **Assembly Bill 883** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (6) Representative Edming; Representatives VanderMeer, Knodl, Schraa, Petryk and

Gundrum.

Noes: (3) Representatives Sinicki, Ohnstad and Hong.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 3

\_\_\_\_\_

Tyler Longsine Committee Clerk