Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Local Government

Assembly Bill 258

Relating to: community-oriented policing-house grant program and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Spiros, Armstrong, Brandtjen and Ortiz-Velez; cosponsored by Senators Wanggaard, L. Taylor, Darling and Cowles.

April 08, 2021 Referred to Committee on Local Government

May 18, 2021 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (9) Representative Novak; Representatives Gundrum, Duchow, Skowronski, Brooks,

Macco, Spreitzer, Baldeh and Conley.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Senator Van Wanggaard 21st Senate District
- Senator Lena Taylor 4th Senate District

Appearances Against

- Ben Turk Self
- Jim Beadle Self
- Tai Renfrow Self
- Shyelle Smith Black Umbrella / YMOM

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Representative John Spiros 86th Assembly District
- Representative Shelia Stubbs 77th Assembly District
- Representative Jim Steineke 5th Assembly District
- Steve Lyons Wisconsin Chiefs of Police Association Inc
- Alice O'Connor Wisconsin Professional Police Association
- Toni Herkert League of Wisconsin Municipalities
- Lynne Davis State Bar of Wisconsin

Registrations Against

• Representative David Bowen - 10th Assembly District

Registrations for Information Only

None.

June 02, 2021 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (9) Representative Novak; Representatives Gundrum, Duchow, Skowronski, Brooks, Macco, Spreitzer, Baldeh and Conley.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Duchow, seconded by Representative Brooks that **Assembly Substitute Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (7) Representative Novak; Representatives Gundrum, Duchow, Skowronski, Brooks, Macco and Spreitzer.

Noes: (2) Representatives Baldeh and Conley.

ASSEMBLY SUBSTITUTE AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 7, Noes 2

Moved by Representative Macco, seconded by Representative Brooks that **Assembly Bill 258** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (6) Representative Novak; Representatives Gundrum, Duchow, Skowronski, Brooks and Macco.

Noes: (3) Representatives Spreitzer, Baldeh and Conley.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 6, Noes 3

Nolan Bursch

Committee Clerk