Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on Public Benefit Reform

Assembly Bill 935

Relating to: FoodShare work and FoodShare employment and training requirements and drug testing.

By Representatives Born, Armstrong, August, Brandtjen, Cabral-Guevara, Callahan, Dittrich, Duchow, Edming, James, Katsma, Kitchens, Knodl, Krug, Kuglitsch, Kurtz, Loudenbeck, Macco, Magnafici, Moses, Penterman, Petersen, Petryk, Plumer, Rozar, Schraa, Skowronski, Snyder, Sortwell, Steffen, Tittl, Tusler, Vorpagel, Wichgers and Zimmerman; cosponsored by Senators Testin, Bernier, Felzkowski, Feyen, Marklein, Nass and Stroebel.

January 31, 2022 Referred to Committee on Public Benefit Reform

February 08, 2022 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(0)	None.
Absent:	(7)	Representative Krug; Representatives Schraa,
		Brandtjen, Cabral-Guevara, Behnke, L. Myers and Conley.
Excused:	(2)	Representatives Allen and Cabrera.

Appearances For

- Sen. Patrick Testin 24th State Senate District
- Rep. Mark Born 39th State Assembly District
- Chase Martin Opportunity Solutions Project
- Angela Rachidi Badger Insiitute

Appearances Against

- Brenda Lewison Local Action of Wisconsin
- Kim Vercauteren Wisconsin Catholic Conference
- Stephanie Dorfman Feeding Wisconsin

Appearances for Information Only

• None.

Registrations For

- Rachel Ver Velde Wisconsin Manufacturers and Commerce
- Kathi Pappa
- Christopher Reader IRG Action Fund

Registrations Against

- Chelsea Fibert Wisconsin Counties Association
- Pastor Cindy Crane Lutheran Office for Public Policy in Wisconsin
- Colin McGinn Hunger Task Force
- Abby Bar-Lev Wiley Legal Action of Wisconsin
- Peter Bakken Wisconsin Council of Churches

Registrations for Information Only

• HJ Waukau - Wisconsin Department of Health Services

February 10, 2022 **Executive Session Held**

Present:	(7)	Representative Krug; Representatives Schraa,
		Brandtjen, Cabral-Guevara, Behnke, Cabrera
		and Conley.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(2)	Representatives Allen and L. Myers.

Moved by Representative Brandtjen, seconded by Representative Schraa that **Assembly Bill 935** be recommended for passage.

- Ayes: (5) Representative Krug; Representatives Schraa, Brandtjen, Cabral-Guevara and Behnke.
- Noes: (2) Representatives Cabrera and Conley.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 5, Noes 2

John Reinemann Committee Clerk