# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on Rural Development**

### **Assembly Bill 239**

Relating to: the use of certain federal funds for broadband expansion grants. By Representatives Summerfield, Edming, Armstrong, Born, Plumer, Krug, Cabral-Guevara, Snyder, Callahan, Gundrum, Horlacher, Duchow, Wittke, Rozar, Kurtz, Vorpagel, Moses, Tranel, Swearingen, Zimmerman, Mursau, Tusler, Petryk, Oldenburg, Knodl, James and Jagler; cosponsored by Senators Marklein, Bernier, Felzkowski, Feyen and Stafsholt.

April 02, 2021 Referred to Committee on Rural Development

April 06, 2021 **Public Hearing Held** 

Present: (14) Representative VanderMeer; Representatives
Moses, Plumer, Edming, Novak, Oldenburg,
Pronschinske, Summerfield, Armstrong,
Callahan, Vruwink, Considine, B. Meyers and
Hong.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Milroy.

#### Appearances For

- Representative Rob Summerfield 67th Assembly District
- Representative James Edming 87th Assembly District
- Bill Esbeck Wisconsin State Telecom Association

## Appearances Against

• None.

#### Appearances for Information Only

• None.

#### Registrations For

- Senator Howard Marklein 17th Senate District
- John Cronin Wisconsin Bankers Association
- Brian Dake Wisconsin Independent Businesses Inc
- Tom Moore WI Cable Commications Association
- Adam Raschka Charter Communications
- Rob Richard WI Electric Cooperative Association
- Debi Towns WI Farm Bureau
- Michael Welsh WI Economic Development Association

• Representative Travis Tranel - 49th Assembly District

#### Registrations Against

• None.

### Registrations for Information Only

• None.

### April 08, 2021 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (13) Representative VanderMeer; Representatives Moses, Edming, Novak, Oldenburg, Summerfield, Armstrong, Callahan, Vruwink, Milroy, Considine, B. Meyers and Hong.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Plumer and Pronschinske.

Moved by Representative Oldenburg, seconded by Representative Moses that **Assembly Bill 239** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (8) Representative VanderMeer; Representatives Moses, Edming, Novak, Oldenburg, Summerfield, Armstrong and Callahan.

Noes: (5) Representatives Vruwink, Milroy, Considine, B. Meyers and Hong.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 5

Jesse Johnson Committee Clerk