Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on State Affairs

Assembly Bill 32

Relating to: the retail sale of intoxicating liquor by the glass for consumption away from the licensed premises.

By Representatives Steffen, Anderson, Brooks, Callahan, Dittrich, Hintz, Hong, Kitchens, Knodl, Milroy, Moses, Murphy, Mursau, L. Myers, Neubauer, S. Rodriguez, Rozar, Schraa, Sinicki, Skowronski, Snodgrass, Sortwell, Summerfield, Swearingen, Vorpagel, Vruwink, Shankland, Drake, Thiesfeldt and Macco; cosponsored by Senators Felzkowski, Ballweg, Feyen, Larson, Ringhand, Testin, Wimberger, Roys and Stroebel.

February 04, 2021 Referred to Committee on State Affairs

February 10, 2021 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (13) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Vorpagel, Kuglitsch, Tauchen, Summerfield,

Spiros, Knodl, Brooks, Schraa, Sinicki, Pope,

Ohnstad and McGuire.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Appearances For

- Daniel Jacobs Main Street Alliance
- David Heide Main Street Alliance
- Jordan Bright Food Fight Restaurant Group
- Tom Anderson Buck & Honey's
- Kristine Hollmer Wisconsin Restaurant Assn
- John Kavanagh Esquire Club
- George Klaetsoh Distilled Spirits Council
- Eric Christenson Christy's Landing
- Pat Puntell Oshkosh Tavern Owner
- Representative Dave Steffen 4th Assembly District

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

• James Bohl - City of Milwaukee

Registrations For

- Senator Mary Felzkowski 12th Senate District
- Matt Phillips Tavern League of Wisconsin

- Scott Stenger Tavern League of Wisconsin
- Tom Fonfara Wisconsin Craft Beverage Coalition
- Susan Quam WI Restaurant Assn
- Kathi Kilsore Wisconsin Hotel & Lodging Assn

Registrations Against

• Michelle Kussow - WI Grocers Assn.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

February 11, 2021 **Executive Session Held**

Present: (13) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Vorpagel, Kuglitsch, Tauchen, Summerfield, Spiros, Knodl, Brooks, Schraa, Sinicki, Pope, Ohnstad and McGuire.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Pope, seconded by Representative Sinicki that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for introduction and adoption.

Ayes: (4) Representatives Sinicki, Pope, Ohnstad and McGuire.

Noes: (9) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Vorpagel, Kuglitsch, Tauchen, Summerfield, Spiros, Knodl, Brooks and Schraa.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 INTRODUCTION AND ADOPTION, Ayes 4, Noes 9

Moved by Representative Spiros, seconded by Representative Knodl that **Assembly Bill 32** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (13) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Vorpagel, Kuglitsch, Tauchen, Summerfield, Spiros, Knodl, Brooks, Schraa, Sinicki, Pope, Ohnstad and McGuire.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 13, Noes 0

Taylor Corkran Committee Clerk