Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on State Affairs

Assembly Bill 367

Relating to: loan for the purchase of the Verso Paper Mill in the city of Wisconsin Rapids.

By Representatives Krug, Edming, Snyder, Callahan, Rozar, Spiros, VanderMeer, James and Mursau; cosponsored by Senators Testin, Felzkowski and Ballweg.

May 27, 2021 Referred to Committee on State Affairs

June 02, 2021 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (11) Representative Swearingen; Representatives

Kuglitsch, Tauchen, Summerfield, Spiros, Knodl, Brooks, Schraa, Pope, Ohnstad and

McGuire.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Vorpagel and Sinicki.

Appearances For

- Sen. Patrick Testin 24th Senate District
- Rep. Scott Krug 72nd Assembly District
- Rep. James Edming 87th Assembly District
- Michael Bablick City of Park Falls Mayor
- Don Peterson WI Wood Marketing Team
- Henry Schiencbeck GLTDA
- Dennis Schoeneck Time Professinals Co-op
- Dean Veneman City of Wisconsin Rapids

Appearances Against

None.

Appearances for Information Only

None.

Registrations For

- Mike Rehrson Washburn Co. Forester
- Scott Suder WI Paper Council
- Holly Felly
- Heidi Brantmeier
- Rebekah Luedtlee WI County Forests Assn.
- Tim Walters Walters Brothers Lumber
- Shane Blaser Wisconsin Rapid Mayor

- John Bergin Technical and Investor LLC
- Toni Engstrom
- Mike Albrecht Albrecht Trucking LLC
- Tari Johns United Way of South Wood / Adams Counties
- Jane Carlson
- Christopher Gumz
- Justin Boykins
- Tim Mitchell United Steelworkers Local 94 President
- Dean Bowe County Forest Admistrator Lincoln County
- Norman Bickford WI County Forests Assn. President
- Rebecca Luedtke WI County Forests Assn. Executive Director
- Robert Wunrow
- Debra Franz
- Mike Pavlik United Steelworkers Local 294 President
- Vern Krolow Krolow Logging LLC
- Chadwick Stelmacher
- Travis Paulsrud Paulsrud Expressx LLC
- Kathleen Lorbiecki
- Brian Hanson
- Matt Berdan
- Calvin Lorbiecki
- Mason Lorbiecki
- Eric Sosin
- Nicole Sobczak
- Tim Novitski
- Brian Schweitzer
- Darin Duncan
- Patrick Smith Florence County Forest Adminstrator
- Craig Broeren Wisconsin Rapids Public Schools Superintendant
- James Swanke Swanke Timberland Ltd
- Thomas Bohn Bohn Trucking & Excavating Inc
- Miranda Lockman
- Matt Jensen
- John Gummerson Mid-State Equipment
- Marvin Sekorski
- Scott Pane American Loggers Council
- Jason Nichols Burnett County Forest & Parks
- Steve Kariainen Prime Time Forestry LLC
- Max Ericson Ericson Logging
- Randolph Lockman Sonoco Board Mill

- Mike Fardner Sawyer County/Lac Courte Oreilles Economic Devopment Corp
- Chris Frank Frank's Logging
- Aaron Matticks
- Steve Barczi Rynish Forestry Inc
- Scott Bowe
- Scot Jenkins Consolidated Co-op
- Lanee Pliml Wood County Board Chairman
- Jackie Bowe JLB Design
- Tate VanDeVoort
- Tim Burdick

Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

None.

June 08, 2021 Executive Session Held

Present: (13) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Vorpagel, Kuglitsch, Tauchen, Summerfield, Spiros, Knodl, Brooks, Schraa, Sinicki, Pope, Ohnstad and McGuire.

Absent: (0) None. Excused: (0) None.

Moved by Representative Spiros, seconded by Representative Summerfield that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (8) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Vorpagel, Kuglitsch, Tauchen, Summerfield, Spiros, Knodl and Brooks.

Noes: (4) Representatives Sinicki, Pope, Ohnstad and McGuire.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 4

Moved by Representative Spiros, seconded by Representative Tauchen that **Assembly Bill 367** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (9) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Vorpagel, Kuglitsch, Tauchen,

Summerfield, Spiros, Knodl, Brooks and Schraa.

Noes: (4) Representatives Sinicki, Pope, Ohnstad and McGuire.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 9, Noes 4

Taylor Corkran Committee Clerk