# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on State Affairs**

### Assembly Bill 376

Relating to: a statewide urban search and rescue task force, regional emergency response teams, and making an appropriation.

By Representatives Loudenbeck, Dallman, Born, James, Kerkman, Milroy, Moses, Mursau, Oldenburg, Petersen, Plumer, Shankland, Sortwell, Spreitzer, Thiesfeldt and Tusler; cosponsored by Senators Ballweg, Wanggaard, Bernier, Bewley, Feyen, Jacque, Nass and Ringhand.

June 07, 2021 Referred to Committee on State Affairs

# September 08, 2021 Public Hearing Held

Present: (11) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Kuglitsch, Summerfield, Spiros, Knodl, Brooks, Schraa, Sinicki, Pope, Ohnstad and McGuire.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (2) Representatives Vorpagel and Tauchen.

#### Appearances For

- Rep. Amy Loudenbeck 31st Assembly District
- Chief David Litton Green Bay Metro Fire
- Chief Michael Stanley Oshkosh FD
- Chief Jeremy Hansen Appleton FD
- Chief Cody Doucette Cambria Community Fire Dept.
- Doug Vrecher Appleton Fire
- Chris Garrison WSFCA

#### Appearances Against

• None.

## Appearances for Information Only

• None.

## Registrations For

- Sen. Joan Ballweg 14th Senate District
- Tom Fonfara WI State Firefighter Assn.
- George Klaetsch WI State Fire Chiefs Assn.
- Joe Strohl Professional Fire Fighters
- Curt Witynski League of WI Municipalities
- Forbes McIntosh WI EMS Assn.

#### Registrations Against

None.

### Registrations for Information Only

Bridget Esser - WI Dept. Military Affairs

#### **Executive Session Held** September 15, 2021

Present: (12)Representative Swearingen; Representatives Vorpagel, Kuglitsch, Summerfield, Spiros,

Knodl, Brooks, Schraa, Sinicki, Pope, Ohnstad

and McGuire.

Absent: (0)None.

Excused: (1) Representative Tauchen.

Moved by Representative Spiros, seconded by Representative Sinicki that Assembly Amendment 1 be recommended for adoption.

> (12) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Ayes: Vorpagel, Kuglitsch, Summerfield, Spiros, Knodl, Brooks, Schraa, Sinicki, Pope, Ohnstad and McGuire.

Noes: (0)None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Spiros, seconded by Representative Sinicki that **Assembly Bill 376** be recommended for passage as amended.

> (12) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Ayes: Vorpagel, Kuglitsch, Summerfield, Spiros, Knodl, Brooks, Schraa, Sinicki, Pope, Ohnstad and McGuire.

Noes: (0)None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Taylor Corkran

Committee Clerk