Assembly

Record of Committee Proceedings

Committee on State Affairs

Assembly Bill 624

Relating to: legislative redistricting. By Representative Vos; cosponsored by Senator LeMahieu.

October 21, 2021 Referred to Committee on State Affairs

October 28, 2021 **Public Hearing Held**

Present: (12) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Vorpagel, Kuglitsch, Summerfield, Spiros, Knodl, Brooks, Schraa, Sinicki, Pope, Ohnstad and McGuire.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Tauchen.

Appearances For

- Majority Leader Devin LeMahieu 9th Senate District
- Speaker Robin Vos 63rd Assembly District

Appearances Against

- Sachin Chheda Fair Maps Coalition
- Debra Cronmiller League of Women Voters of Wisconsin
- Senator Lena Taylor 4th Senate District
- Robert Yablon
- Matthew Rothschild Wisconsin Democracy Campaign
- Executive Director Jay Heck Common Cause Wisconsin
- Tim Cullen Common Cause Wisconsin
- Calena Roberts SEIU
- Stephanie Johnson SEIU
- Rob Haskins SEIU
- Cheryl Maranto North Shore Fair Maps
- Nick Levendofsky Wisconsin Farmers Union
- Jennifer Giegerich Wisconsin Conservation Voters
- Joan Schwarz League of Women Voters Dane County
- Ann Muenster
- Grace Quinn
- Sally Huntington
- Rachel Soliday
- John Henderson

- Jean Henderson
- Conrad Anderson
- Toim White
- Geralyn Leannah
- Patti Herman Columbia County Fair Maps
- Michael Nichols
- Samuel Schmitt
- Wendy Sue Johnson
- Kathleen Levy
- Robert Malina
- Charlene Warner
- Mark Scheffler
- Terry Schoonover Fair Maps Coalition
- Deborah Patel North Shore Fair Maps
- Ellen Ochs League of Women Voters Greater Chippewa Valley
- Henry Vekker
- Victor Weirp
- Jean Radtke Fair Maps Coalition
- Lisa Williams
- Ellen Magee
- Cecile Stelzer-Johnson
- Colleen Robson
- Rebecca Cole
- Lori Toso Fair Maps Coalition
- Mary Kay Baum Wisconsin Network for Peace and Justice
- John Coover
- Charles Uphoff
- Cheyenne Otto Progress North
- Jade Livingston Progress North
- Leon Radant Juneau County Democrats
- Leslie DeMuth
- Steve Bouder
- Jeannine RamRamsey
- Kelly Haslam League of Women Voters
- Jenelle Ludwig Krause Western Wisconsin for Nonpartisan Voting Districts
- Maureen Ash Western Wisconsin for Nonpartisan Voting Districts
- George Jesien Team Gold
- Maia Pearson Rise
- Kevin Solomon Rise
- Lena Eng

- Mike DeRubis Wisconsin Fair Maps Coalition
- Bruce Jamison
- Shirley Smith
- Vicki Avo-Schackmoth
- Cheryl Maplethorpe
- Amanda Peterson
- Louise Mollinger
- Susan Johnson League of Women Voters Janesville
- Jane Bengow
- Mark Fuller
- Charles Bradley Jr
- Nancy Hetzel
- Susan Adams League of Women Voters Beloit
- Patricia Zody League of Women Voters Beloit
- Victoria Hildebrandt
- Janet Brandt Iowa County Fair Maps
- Myra Enloe
- Jacob Barrows
- Mary Lisa Jordan
- JT Covelli Moms Demand Gunsense
- Beverly Mazur
- John Calabrese Our Wisconsin Revolution
- Andy Hauck Smart TD
- Joel Jacobson
- Ed Morganroth Jr
- Mark Peters
- Joni Anderson Our Wisconsin revolution
- Marianne Ewig
- Marc Herstand National Association of Social Workers
 Wisconsin
- Michael Dickman Take Back Wisconsin
- Haakon Gulbrandsen
- Maureen Plunkett Wisconsin Unitarian Universalist State Action Network
- Mary Wallace
- Tony Castaneda
- Joshua Platt
- Peggy Haas Menomonee Falls Action Team
- Steve Books

Appearances for Information Only

Rick Bradley

Registrations For

None.

Registrations Against

- Joseph Fritz
- Quinn Marita
- Barbara Peterson American Association of University Women
- Liz Lusk
- John Roger
- Kathryn Corio League of Women Voters
- Anneliese Waggoner League of Women Voters
- Valerie Murphy
- Adrienne Faerber
- Dana Johnson
- Patricia Ryan
- Joy A. E. Morgan Raging Grannis of Madison
- Cindy Shallig

Registrations for Information Only

None.

November 08, 2021 Executive Session Held

Present: (12) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Vorpagel, Kuglitsch, Summerfield, Spiros, Knodl, Brooks, Schraa, Sinicki, Pope, Ohnstad

and McGuire.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Tauchen.

Moved by Representative Kuglitsch, seconded by Representative Spiros that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (11) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Vorpagel, Kuglitsch, Summerfield, Spiros, Knodl, Brooks, Schraa, Sinicki, Pope and McGuire.

Noes: (1) Representative Ohnstad.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 11, Noes 1

Moved by Representative Spiros, seconded by Representative Kuglitsch that **Assembly Bill 624** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (8) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Vorpagel, Kuglitsch, Summerfield, Spiros, Knodl, Brooks and Schraa.

Noes: (4) Representatives Sinicki, Pope, Ohnstad and McGuire.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 4

Taylor Corkran Committee Clerk