# **Assembly**

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

# **Committee on State Affairs**

### **Assembly Bill 625**

Relating to: congressional redistricting. By Representative Vos; cosponsored by Senator LeMahieu.

October 21, 2021 Referred to Committee on State Affairs

October 28, 2021 Public Hearing Held

Present: (12) Representative Swearingen; Representatives

Vorpagel, Kuglitsch, Summerfield, Spiros, Knodl, Brooks, Schraa, Sinicki, Pope, Ohnstad

and McGuire.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Tauchen.

### Appearances For

None.

## Appearances Against

- Robert Yablon
- Executive Director Jay Heck Common Cause Wisconsin
- Nick Levendofsky Wisconsin Farmers Union
- Jennifer Giegerich Wisconsin Conservation Voters
- Joan Schwarz League of Women Voters Dane County
- Ann Muenster
- Grace Quinn
- Sally Huntington
- Conrad Anderson
- Toim White
- Geralyn Leannah
- Patti Herman Columbia County Fair Maps
- Michael Nichols
- Wendy Sue Johnson
- Kathleen Levy
- Charlene Warner
- Deborah Patel North Shore Fair Maps
- Ellen Ochs League of Women Voters Greater Chippewa Valley
- Henry Vekker
- Victor Weirp

- Jean Radtke Fair Maps Coalition
- Lisa Williams
- Ellen Magee
- Cecile Stelzer-Johnson
- Mary Kay Baum Wisconsin Network for Peace and Justice
- Charles Uphoff
- Cheyenne Otto Progress North
- Jade Livingston Progress North
- Leon Radant Juneau County Democrats
- Leslie DeMuth
- Steve Bouder
- Jeannine RamRamsey
- Kelly Haslam League of Women Voters
- Jenelle Ludwig Krause Western Wisconsin for Nonpartisan Voting Districts
- Maureen Ash Western Wisconsin for Nonpartisan Voting Districts
- Maia Pearson Rise
- Kevin Solomon Rise
- Lena Eng
- Mike DeRubis Wisconsin Fair Maps Coalition
- Bruce Jamison
- Shirley Smith
- Vicki Avo-Schackmoth
- Susan Johnson League of Women Voters Janesville
- Mark Fuller
- Nancy Hetzel
- Susan Adams League of Women Voters Beloit
- Patricia Zody League of Women Voters Beloit
- Mary Lisa Jordan
- JT Covelli Moms Demand Gunsense
- Beverly Mazur
- Andy Hauck Smart TD
- Joel Jacobson
- Ed Morganroth Jr
- Mark Peters
- Joni Anderson Our Wisconsin revolution
- Marianne Ewig
- Marc Herstand National Association of Social Workers
  Wisconsin
- Michael Dickman Take Back Wisconsin
- Haakon Gulbrandsen

- Maureen Plunkett Wisconsin Unitarian Universalist State Action Network
- Tony Castaneda
- Joshua Platt
- Peggy Haas Menomonee Falls Action Team
- Steve Books

### Appearances for Information Only

Rick Bradley

#### Registrations For

• None.

### Registrations Against

- Joseph Fritz
- Quinn Marita
- Liz Lusk
- John Roger
- Kathryn Corio League of Women Voters
- Anneliese Waggoner League of Women Voters
- Valerie Murphy
- Adrienne Faerber
- Dana Johnson
- Patricia Ryan
- Joy A. E. Morgan Raging Grannis of Madison
- Cindy Shallig

# Registrations for Information Only

None.

#### November 08, 2021 Executive Session Held

Present: (12) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Vorpagel, Kuglitsch, Summerfield, Spiros, Knodl, Brooks, Schraa, Sinicki, Pope, Ohnstad and McGuire.

Absent: (0) None.

Excused: (1) Representative Tauchen.

Moved by Representative Spiros, seconded by Representative Vorpagel that **Assembly Bill 625** be recommended for passage.

Ayes: (8) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Vorpagel, Kuglitsch, Summerfield, Spiros, Knodl. Brooks and Schraa.

Noes: (4) Representatives Sinicki, Pope, Ohnstad and McGuire.

PASSAGE RECOMMENDED, Ayes 8, Noes 4

\_\_\_\_\_

Taylor Corkran Committee Clerk