### Assembly

# **Record of Committee Proceedings**

## **Committee on State Affairs**

#### Assembly Bill 756

Relating to: changes to the administration of the code of ethics, as recommended by the Ethics Commission.

By Representatives Wichgers, Cabral-Guevara, Murphy and Spiros; cosponsored by Senator Bernier.

December 07, 2021 Referred to Committee on State Affairs

January 19, 2022 Public Hearing Held

Present:	(12)	Representative Swearingen; Representatives
		Vorpagel, Kuglitsch, Summerfield, Spiros,
		Knodl, Brooks, Schraa, Sinicki, Pope, Ohnstad
		and McGuire.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(1)	Representative Tauchen.

#### Appearances For

- Sen. Kathy Bernier 23rd Senate District
- William Neville Rep. Wichgers 83rd Assembly District
- Dan Carlton WI Ethics Commission
- George Klaetsch Assn. of WI Lobbyists

Appearances Against

• None.

Appearances for Information Only

• Jay Risch - SWIB

Registrations For

- Susan Quam WI Restaurant Assn.
- Kathi Kilgore WI Hotel & Lodging Assn.

#### Registrations Against

• None.

Registrations for Information Only

• None.

February 01, 2022 Executive Session Held

Present:	(12)	Representative Swearingen; Representatives
		Vorpagel, Kuglitsch, Tauchen, Summerfield,
		Spiros, Knodl, Brooks, Schraa, Sinicki, Pope
		and McGuire.
Absent:	(0)	None.
Excused:	(1)	Representative Ohnstad.

Moved by Representative Tauchen, seconded by Representative Knodl that **Assembly Amendment 1** be recommended for adoption.

Ayes: (12) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Vorpagel, Kuglitsch, Tauchen, Summerfield, Spiros, Knodl, Brooks, Schraa, Sinicki, Pope and McGuire.

Noes: (0) None.

ASSEMBLY AMENDMENT 1 ADOPTION RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Moved by Representative Spiros, seconded by Representative Knodl that **Assembly Bill 756** be recommended for passage as amended.

Ayes: (12) Representative Swearingen; Representatives Vorpagel, Kuglitsch, Tauchen, Summerfield, Spiros, Knodl, Brooks, Schraa, Sinicki, Pope and McGuire.

Noes: (0) None.

PASSAGE AS AMENDED RECOMMENDED, Ayes 12, Noes 0

Taylor Corkran Committee Clerk